Buyer guide
Best answering service for electricians in 2026 (AI picks for outages, booking and after-hours)
Vendor data checked 16 Oct 2026. Looking for the best answering service for electricians? This shortlist uses only the 26 vendors tagged electrical in the AI Front Desk List directory and picks by job: emergency and outage calls, Jobber, ServiceTitan or Housecall Pro fit, and a low published entry price for a one-truck shop. Every price is as published by the vendor and recorded in our data. No listing on this page is paid.
We do not test emergency handling. Triage, escalation and on-call alerts below are each vendor's own description of its product. Before go-live, confirm in writing what the agent tells a caller who reports a live hazard, such as a sparking panel or a downed line, and who it alerts.
Want every option? The AI receptionist for electricians page lists all 26 A to Z.
How we picked
- Directory only. Every pick is a live listing tagged electrical in our data. Of the 26, 21 publish pricing and 16 offer a free trial or free plan.
- Emergency language on the vendor's own site. We favour vendors whose records describe emergency triage, urgent call escalation or on-call alerts.
- Field service software as listed. Jobber, ServiceTitan and Housecall Pro come from each vendor's integrations as recorded. A listing is the vendor's claim, not a test of booking write-back.
- Published price preferred. Quote-only products can still be picks; their price shows as Not published.
Several vendors carry the electrical tag as one use case among many, with no trades emergency features in their record. They are on the full list, not in the job picks below. No star ratings or reviews. See our methodology.
Quick picks for electricians (editorial, not paid)
| Use case | Pick | Why (from our data) | Starting price as published | Trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Emergency triage and on-call alerts | OnCrew | Built for HVAC, plumbing, electrical and roofing; emergency triage with your rules; on-call tech text alerts and live transfers | Starter $49/mo (100 calls) | Free trial, 14 days, no card required |
| Jobber shops (native) | Jobber Receptionist | Inside Jobber; books visits; creates work requests; keyword-based urgent call escalation | Not published | Trial with conditions (not free) |
| Jobber shops (standalone) | ConvoForms (Gus) | Creates Jobber clients, requests and visits; books on-site quotes | $49/mo including 600 minutes | Free trial, 14 days, no card required |
| Housecall Pro shops | Housecall Pro CSR AI | Native; books jobs into the Housecall Pro schedule using your price book, services and availability | Not published | Trial with conditions (not free) |
| ServiceTitan shops | Avoca AI | AI CSR for field service with emergency escalation; its homepage says ServiceTitan Certified App | Not published | Not stated |
| One-truck shop, trades-built | Claudessa | Built for home-services trades; quotes emergency rates from your playbook; priced per call | Flex $29/mo (50 calls, then $0.49/call) | Free 14-day or first-30-calls trial; no card for organic trials only |
| Done-with-you setup | dolfyn | Team builds the agent around your call flows and reviews every call daily; lists ServiceTitan, Jobber and Housecall Pro | $179/mo | Free trial, 14 days, no card required |
- Emergency triage and on-call alerts
- Pick: OnCrew
- Why (from our data): Built for HVAC, plumbing, electrical and roofing; emergency triage with your rules; on-call tech text alerts and live transfers
- Starting price as published: Starter $49/mo (100 calls)
- Trial: Free trial, 14 days, no card required
- Jobber shops (native)
- Pick: Jobber Receptionist
- Why (from our data): Inside Jobber; books visits; creates work requests; keyword-based urgent call escalation
- Starting price as published: Not published
- Trial: Trial with conditions (not free)
- Jobber shops (standalone)
- Pick: ConvoForms (Gus)
- Why (from our data): Creates Jobber clients, requests and visits; books on-site quotes
- Starting price as published: $49/mo including 600 minutes
- Trial: Free trial, 14 days, no card required
- Housecall Pro shops
- Pick: Housecall Pro CSR AI
- Why (from our data): Native; books jobs into the Housecall Pro schedule using your price book, services and availability
- Starting price as published: Not published
- Trial: Trial with conditions (not free)
- ServiceTitan shops
- Pick: Avoca AI
- Why (from our data): AI CSR for field service with emergency escalation; its homepage says ServiceTitan Certified App
- Starting price as published: Not published
- Trial: Not stated
- One-truck shop, trades-built
- Pick: Claudessa
- Why (from our data): Built for home-services trades; quotes emergency rates from your playbook; priced per call
- Starting price as published: Flex $29/mo (50 calls, then $0.49/call)
- Trial: Free 14-day or first-30-calls trial; no card for organic trials only
- Done-with-you setup
- Pick: dolfyn
- Why (from our data): Team builds the agent around your call flows and reviews every call daily; lists ServiceTitan, Jobber and Housecall Pro
- Starting price as published: $179/mo
- Trial: Free trial, 14 days, no card required
Best for emergency and outage triage
Pick: OnCrew. OnCrew is built for trades, electrical included. It answers in two rings, applies your emergency triage rules, and texts or live-transfers the on-call tech, with emailed recordings and transcripts. Plans as published: Starter $49/mo (100 calls); Pro $149/mo (400 calls); Multi-Truck $349/mo (1,000 calls); $0.99 per extra call. Trial: Free trial, 14 days, no card required; its record also notes a money-back period.
Also consider:
- Avoca AI: an AI CSR for field service businesses that books jobs 24/7 and lists emergency escalation. Price: Not published (demo only).
- Claudessa: answers 24/7, quotes emergency rates from the owner's playbook, qualifies the job and books or dispatches while crews are on site. Plans as published: Flex $29/mo (50 calls, then $0.49/call); Volume $79/mo (200 calls, then $0.29/call). Month to month, cancel anytime. First paid month overage capped at $50.
- Callbook: answers in English and Spanish, books during the call and lists urgent job routing. Entry plan: $79/mo (250 AI min, first month $49).
- ScepterIQ: lists trade-specific lead qualification and safety protocols, with live handoff to a human. Monthly plans start at Starter $39/mo (500 credits). Its Test Drive is paid, not a free trial: Test Drive $7 one-time (300 credits).
- Jobber Receptionist escalates urgent calls by keyword; see the Jobber section below.
Whichever you trial, call after hours with a scripted "half the house just lost power and the panel smells hot" and a routine "I want a quote for an EV charger", then check who got alerted, how fast, and what each caller was told.
Best if you run Jobber, ServiceTitan or Housecall Pro
Of the 26 vendors, Jobber is listed by 5, ServiceTitan by 6 and Housecall Pro by 5, plus the two native products below. Every vendor in this table lists the software on its own site; ask whether it books into your schedule or only sends lead details.
| Field service software | Electrical vendors that list it |
|---|---|
| Jobber (native) | Jobber Receptionist |
| Jobber | CallCatcher, ConvoForms (Gus), dolfyn, Lippy AI, Phantom Desk AI |
| Housecall Pro (native) | Housecall Pro CSR AI |
| Housecall Pro | CallCatcher, dolfyn, Lippy AI, Phantom Desk AI, QuickVOC |
| ServiceTitan | Avoca AI, CallCatcher, dolfyn, Hatch, Lippy AI, Phantom Desk AI |
- Jobber (native)
- Electrical vendors that list it: Jobber Receptionist
- Jobber
- Electrical vendors that list it: CallCatcher, ConvoForms (Gus), dolfyn, Lippy AI, Phantom Desk AI
- Housecall Pro (native)
- Electrical vendors that list it: Housecall Pro CSR AI
- Housecall Pro
- Electrical vendors that list it: CallCatcher, dolfyn, Lippy AI, Phantom Desk AI, QuickVOC
- ServiceTitan
- Electrical vendors that list it: Avoca AI, CallCatcher, dolfyn, Hatch, Lippy AI, Phantom Desk AI
Jobber: Jobber Receptionist. It answers calls and texts 24/7, books visits using your Jobber online booking settings, creates work requests and escalates urgent calls by keyword. Jobber does not publish a separate price for it: the no-card free trial is for the Jobber platform, and the AI Receptionist may be a paid add-on. Ask Jobber for the add-on price in writing.
Jobber, standalone: ConvoForms (Gus). It answers 24/7 and creates real Jobber clients, requests and visits. Works with (as listed): Jobber, Google Calendar. Pricing as published: $49/mo including 600 minutes; $0.30 per extra minute only if you opt in. No contract. Trial: Free trial, 14 days, no card required.
Housecall Pro: Housecall Pro CSR AI. Built into Housecall Pro, it answers calls and chats 24/7, books jobs into your schedule and uses your price book, services and availability, with custom scripts, hours and escalation rules. Voice pricing is not published, so treat it as quote only. Housecall Pro's platform trial runs 14 days.
ServiceTitan: Avoca AI (quote only; its homepage says ServiceTitan Certified App) and Hatch, whose record lists real-time ServiceTitan booking sync. Hatch price: Not published.
Also listing all three:
- CallCatcher: a trades-first receptionist that qualifies the job and texts the crew. Entry plan: Starter $49/mo (100 min then $0.25/min).
- dolfyn: done-with-you setup with a human review of every call, daily. Price: $179/mo, priced to call volume.
- Lippy AI: managed white-glove setup across voice, text and email. Entry plan: Solo $185/mo billed monthly or $154/mo billed annually (420 min, inbound only, 1 agent).
- Phantom Desk AI: quotes its price on a demo call.
Weighing the native add-on against a trades specialist? Read Jobber Receptionist vs OnCrew.
Best published low entry price for a one-truck shop
Among electrical vendors in our pricing snapshot, the lowest published paid entry price is $10/mo (Auto-Respond: $10/mo per dedicated number plus $1 per minute of talk time). The plan is quoted as published, including any per-minute charge on top.
Pick: Claudessa. Built for trades and priced per call: Flex $29/mo (50 calls, then $0.49/call). Trial: Free 14-day or first-30-calls trial; no card for organic trials only.
Other low entry points as published: Upfirst Starter $24.95/mo (30 calls, $1.50/extra), OnCrew Starter $49/mo (100 calls), CrewDesk Starter $49/mo, ConvoForms (Gus) $49/mo including 600 minutes, Rosie Professional $49/mo (250 min) and Marlie Basic $49/mo (250 min, then $0.35/min). OnCrew, CrewDesk and ConvoForms are built for trades; Upfirst, Rosie and Marlie are general receptionists. The entry plan is not always the plan that books or transfers: Rosie lists calendar booking and live or warm transfers from Scale $149/mo (1,000 min), and Marlie lists calendar booking from Standard $99/mo (500 min, then $0.35/min), so check which plan includes the features you need.
Per-call and per-minute plans behave differently when a storm knocks out a neighbourhood, so check your average call length. Marlie vs OnCrew puts a per-minute plan next to a per-call one, and OnCrew vs Upfirst compares two per-call plans. More on pricing models: AI receptionist cost.
Free trial without a card
Electrical vendors whose record holds a free trial or free plan with no card required: Claudessa (14-day or first-30-calls trial; no card for organic trials only), ConvoForms (Gus) (14 days), CrewDesk (14 days), dolfyn (14 days), OnCrew (14 days), Phone Phoebe (7 days), QuickVOC (3-day free trial with 25 minutes), Ringroo (14 days; free trial covers up to 7 calls then asks callers to text), Rosie (7 days) and Voniq (7 days). Upfirst, CallCatcher, RevSystems and Auto-Respond list free trials, but our data does not record their card terms. Marlie's free trial needs a card at checkout. More options: AI receptionists with a free trial.
What to ask before you buy
- How many calls at once? An outage or storm can ring every line together. Ask how many simultaneous calls your plan answers and what the next caller hears.
- Emergency vs routine scripts. A sparking panel and an EV charger quote need different scripts. Ask to see both, and who decides what counts as an emergency.
- Who gets the text? The on-call tech, the owner, or both, and what happens when nobody replies.
- Booking into your software or a calendar? Native and listed integrations differ. Ask whether the job lands in Jobber, ServiceTitan or Housecall Pro, or only in an email.
- Languages. Callbook answers in English and Spanish, Rosie in English and Spanish on every call, and ScepterIQ lists bilingual answering from Pro $99/mo (1,500 credits).
AI answering vs human answering for electrical shops
A classic answering service puts human agents on your line to take messages and page the on-call electrician. AI tools answer, triage and often book. Many shops keep a human or on-call path for true emergencies and let AI take routine and quote calls. Read AI answering service vs AI receptionist and AI receptionist vs human receptionist.
When to use the full list
This page is a shortlist. For every electrical-tagged vendor with pricing, trials and sources, use the AI receptionist for electricians page. Of the electrical vendors, 24 are also on the HVAC page, which carries the deepest trades guide. Also running plumbing or general repair crews? See plumbers and home services.
FAQ
What is the best answering service for electricians?
It depends on the job. For emergency triage with on-call alerts at a published price, OnCrew ($49/mo). For Jobber shops, Jobber Receptionist (price not published) or ConvoForms ($49/mo including 600 minutes). For Housecall Pro, Housecall Pro CSR AI. For ServiceTitan, Avoca AI (quote only). For a one-truck shop on a budget, Claudessa ($29/mo, priced per call).
Can an AI receptionist triage electrical emergencies and outages?
Several vendors say theirs does: OnCrew describes emergency triage with your rules and on-call text alerts, Avoca AI lists emergency escalation, Callbook lists urgent job routing, ScepterIQ lists trade safety protocols and Jobber Receptionist escalates urgent calls by keyword. We have not tested any of them. Script a hazard call and a routine call during the trial and confirm what the agent tells each caller.
Which AI phone tools book into Jobber, ServiceTitan or Housecall Pro for electricians?
Jobber Receptionist and Housecall Pro CSR AI are native, and ConvoForms creates Jobber clients, requests and visits. Among electrical vendors in our data, 5 list Jobber, 6 list ServiceTitan and 5 list Housecall Pro. Confirm whether each writes to the schedule or only sends lead details.
How much does an AI answering service for an electrical contractor cost per month?
Among electrical vendors in our pricing snapshot, the lowest published paid entry price is $10/mo (Auto-Respond: $10/mo per dedicated number plus $1 per minute of talk time). Claudessa starts at $29/mo, OnCrew at $49/mo and ConvoForms at $49/mo. Jobber Receptionist, Housecall Pro CSR AI and Avoca AI do not publish a price.
Is there an electrician AI answering service with a free trial and no credit card?
Yes. Electrical vendors with a no-card free trial or free plan in our data: Claudessa (14-day or first-30-calls trial; no card for organic trials only), ConvoForms (Gus) (14 days), CrewDesk (14 days), dolfyn (14 days), OnCrew (14 days), Phone Phoebe (7 days), QuickVOC (3-day free trial with 25 minutes), Ringroo (14 days; free trial covers up to 7 calls then asks callers to text), Rosie (7 days) and Voniq (7 days). Upfirst, CallCatcher, RevSystems and Auto-Respond list free trials, but our data does not record their card terms.
Will the AI still transfer to the on-call tech during a panel or storm call?
On products that list it, yes: OnCrew lists on-call tech text alerts and live transfers, and ScepterIQ lists live handoff to a human. Set the transfer rules before go-live, test them after hours, and keep a fallback number for when the on-call tech does not pick up.
Related
- AI receptionist for electricians: all 26 vendors A to Z
- Best HVAC answering service and best answering service for roofers
- Jobber Receptionist vs OnCrew, Marlie vs OnCrew and OnCrew vs Upfirst, or every side-by-side comparison
- Best AI receptionist, AI receptionist cost and free trials
Sources and method: vendor facts, prices, trials and integrations render from AI Front Desk List data (245 vendors, 26 tagged electrical) and normalized pricing, checked 16 Oct 2026. Picks are editorial; directory order is A to Z and never sold. Found an error? Tell us. Vendors can buy clearly labelled placements on Advertise; they never change picks or order.