Skip to content
AI Front Desk List

Buyer guide

AI receptionist free trial (and free plans) you can actually start

Last updated: 15 October 2026. This page lists AI receptionist vendors from our directory that offer a free trial, free plan, or no-card free start, with claims we could support from our vendor data or a vendor page checked the same day. We do not invent trial lengths or card rules. Rankings and picks are never sold. Paid placements are always labelled Sponsored.

Related: Best AI receptionist by use case, What AI receptionists cost, AI receptionist for small businesses.

What counts as "free" here

TypeMeaningExamples in our data
Free planOngoing $0 tier with a usage capSmith.ai (25 calls/mo), Phonely (100 min/mo), Newo.ai Pay As You Go
Timed free trialDays or minutes of full/paid featuresUpfirst 14-day, OnCrew 14-day, Rosie 7-day, Marlie 14-day
Free demo agentBuild/test without connecting a live numberGoodcall (free demo agent until you connect a number)
Free minutes on signupSmall included pool inside a trialCloudTalk (50 AI minutes in 14-day trial), Rinqly (60 free minutes)

Card required is a separate axis. "Free trial" on a homepage does not always mean you can start without a card. Rows below mark what we verified on 2026-10-15.

Vendors with a verified free trial or free plan

Spot-checks used curl against vendor pages on 2026-10-15 unless noted. Our sources: our vendor data, the published pricing we track, our media notes and our hand-checked trial list.

No credit card stated (strongest "just try it" set)

VendorOfferCardDate checkedSource
Upfirst14-day free trial; "Try for free" / "No credit card required" on homepageNo card stated2026-10-15upfirst.ai (live page) + vendor record
OnCrew14-day free trial; FAQ: no card to startNo card2026-10-15oncrew.ai (live page) + vendor record
CloudTalk AI Receptionist14-day trial + 50 free AI minutesNo card stated2026-10-15cloudtalk.io/ai-receptionist
Voka AIFree for 14 days or 100 minutes, whichever firstNo card to start2026-10-15vokaai.com (schema + copy)
RinqlyFree trial; 60 free minutes; "No credit card required"No card2026-10-15rinqly.ai
Frontivo.io14-day free trial on channel plansNo card required (offer JSON on site)2026-10-15frontivo.io
Third Voice"Free to try · No card required"No card2026-10-15thirdvoice.ai
HelloShift AI Voice14-day free trial on plans; AI Voice on Guest+/ProNo card required (pricing FAQ)2026-10-15helloshift.com/pricing
InsurvoiceFirst month free ("Start Free, First Month On Us")No credit card stated2026-10-15insurvoice.ai
Newo.aiPay As You Go $0/mo; "No payment method to start"; 50 free units onceNo payment to start2026-10-15newo.ai/pricing
Frontdesk (My AI Front Desk)Free plan with limited monthly minutes, no credit card (site FAQ)No card for Free plan2026-10-15myaifrontdesk.com
Jobber ReceptionistJobber platform free trial; "No credit card required"No card for Jobber trial2026-10-15getjobber.com/features/ai-receptionist

Caveats in this group: Jobber's no-card trial is the Jobber product trial; the AI Receptionist may be a paid add-on (noted in our hand-checked trial list). Frontdesk's vendor record earlier listed a 7-day free trial; the live site we fetched stresses a Free plan. Confirm which path you land on at signup. Insurvoice's "first month free" is a promo on a $585/mo Growth plan with setup fee in our pricing file, not a tiny SMB trial.

More free trials, confirmed on the vendor's page

Newer listings whose trial or free plan we confirmed on the vendor's own page on 2026-10-15. Where a page does not state card terms, we say so.

Also in our vendor data, not yet re-checked for this page

These listings record a free trial or free plan with no card. We have not re-read their pages for this guide, so confirm the terms at signup.

  • ConvoForms (Gus): 14-day free trial, no card
  • Fast Response AI: Start with no card needed (trial length not stated)
  • GlossGenius Reception: GlossGenius 14-day free trial, no credit card required; the Reception add-on is free until Nov 30, 2026, then…
  • GreetKeeper: 14-day free trial, every feature on, no card
  • Motel4: Free plan with 30 minutes/month, no card required
  • Solwees: 7-day free trial, no card
  • Tilk AI: 7-day free trial, no credit card
  • Verlingo: Free trial with $20 of usage, no credit card
  • Voniq: 7-day free trial, no credit card

Free plans (ongoing $0)

VendorFree allowancePaid floor afterDate checkedSource
Smith.ai25 calls/mo, then $3.00/callPro from $150/mo2026-10-15smith.ai/ai-receptionist + published pricing we track
Phonely100 free minutes/mo + free numberStarter $50/mo2026-10-15phonely.ai/pricing FAQ ("no payment required")
Newo.ai$0 Pay As You Go + 50 free units onceAI Receptionist $299/mo2026-10-15newo.ai/pricing

Smith.ai's FAQ on the AI receptionist page states a credit card is required to sign up even on the free tier because of overage billing. That is still a free plan, but not a no-card signup.

Trial offered; card rule unclear or card required

VendorOfferCard noteDate checkedSource
Rosie7-day free trial with all featuresCard not clearly "no card" on page2026-10-15heyrosie.com
Marlie14-day free trialFAQ: add a card at Stripe checkout2026-10-15marlie.ai
Dialzara7-day free trialCard not stated in FAQ snippet2026-10-15dialzara.com
NextPhone7-day free trial; cancel before end to avoid chargeImplies card on file2026-10-15getnextphone.com
Abby ConnectFree trial on every planCard rule not explicit in FAQ2026-10-15abby.com
GoodcallFree demo agent (not a timed trial); pay when you connect a numberN/A2026-10-15goodcall.com/pricing

Spot-check count

We re-fetched these vendor URLs for trial language on 2026-10-15 (Upfirst, OnCrew, Frontdesk, CloudTalk, Voka AI, Rinqly, Marlie, Rosie, Smith.ai, Goodcall, Dialzara, Phonely, NextPhone, Abby Connect, Newo.ai, Third Voice, Frontivo, HelloShift, Insurvoice, Jobber). ServiceAgent lists a $0 Launch plan but is pre-launch (its site shows a waitlist), so it is not listed here.

What to test during a trial (scripted checklist)

Use a forwarded test number or a public demo line before cutting over production traffic. Score each item pass / fail / partial.

  1. Greeting: business name clear on a noisy mobile call.
  2. FAQ: hours, address, parking; note wrong answers.
  3. Spam / wrong number: stay silent 10 seconds; ask for someone who does not exist.
  4. Booking: request a specific service and day; confirm real calendar write vs message-only.
  5. After-hours emergency: escalate per your rules (critical for trades and medical).
  6. Transfer: ask for a named staff member; note warm vs blind and time to connect.
  7. Lead capture: new name, phone, job details; check SMS/email/CRM payload.
  8. Language: rerun the script in Spanish (or your second language) if required.
  9. Transcript: usable summary within a few minutes.
  10. Failure mode: interrupt, change mid-booking, ask to cancel.

Two fails on booking or emergency escalation are usually enough to reject a vendor. Demo lines in our media file: Upfirst (833) 564-4778, OnCrew (818) 578-4783, Marlie (929) 577-3301, Frontdesk +1 (864) 619-0619, Dialzara 866-545-ZARA, Viva AI (866) 944-8482.

Prefer no-card trials for voice checks, then match industry integrations and price the included pool on What AI receptionists cost. For human backup, trial Smith.ai or Abby Connect.

FAQ

Is there a free AI receptionist with no time limit?

Yes, a few free plans exist in our directory: Smith.ai (25 calls/mo), Phonely (100 minutes/mo) and Newo.ai Pay As You Go. Caps are tight; treat them as perpetual pilots, not full front-desk coverage.

Which AI receptionist free trial does not need a credit card?

On 2026-10-15 page checks, Upfirst, OnCrew, CloudTalk, Voka AI, Rinqly, Frontivo.io, Third Voice, HelloShift, Insurvoice (first month promo), Newo.ai Pay As You Go, and Frontdesk's Free plan all stated no card (or no payment method) to start. Always re-read the checkout screen; marketing copy can lag billing UI.

What is the difference between a free trial and a free demo agent?

A trial usually connects to a number you control for a limited period. A demo agent (Goodcall's model) lets you build and hear the agent before you attach a phone number or pay.

How long should an AI receptionist trial be?

Seven to fourteen days is common in our dataset. That is enough if you forward real overflow or after-hours calls. A weekend-only test will miss weekday booking behavior.

Will a free trial include calendar booking?

Not always. Some entry plans take messages only; booking appears on higher tiers (for example Rosie booking on Scale and up in our feature notes). Test booking explicitly during the trial.

Are free trials on AI Front Desk List paid placements?

No. This page is editorial. Rankings and picks are never sold. Paid placements are always labelled Sponsored.


Methodology: Trial and free-plan claims taken from AI Front Desk List vendor data and same-day vendor page fetches on 2026-10-15. Where the live page and our vendor record disagree, both are noted (see Frontdesk Free plan vs 7-day trial note).