Buyer guide
Best AI receptionist for physical therapy (2027)
This shortlist is for a physical therapist, physiotherapy clinic owner or practice manager choosing an AI receptionist to answer calls and book evaluations and follow-up visits. It covers the 17 vendors in our directory whose records show clinic appointment booking, by the rules below. Each quick pick is chosen by a fixed rule applied to our records, never by opinion, and there is no overall winner. Prices, trials, integrations and HIPAA wording come from our records at build time. Picks are never paid, and sponsorship does not change them.
How we picked
We have no separate physical therapy tag, so this guide starts from the vendors tagged for medical offices and clinics. It adds any vendor whose own description, features or practice size names physical therapy, physiotherapy, physical rehabilitation or allied health clinics, and any vendor that lists physical therapy or allied health practice software. A vendor stays in only if a feature names booking, scheduling, appointments or a calendar, and that feature is not booking for another trade (property tours, showings or leasing, vehicle service in a dealer system, insurance agency calendars or orthodontic software). It also needs clinic evidence: it lists tracked clinic software, or its own description, features or practice size name patients, clinics, healthcare or medical work, or name physical therapy, physiotherapy, physical rehabilitation or allied health clinics. A vendor is left out if every integration it lists is dental practice software, because that is a dental product.
The tracked clinic software is the physical therapy and allied health systems WebPT, Prompt Health, Raintree, Net Health, Jane App, Cliniko, Nookal, Splose, PracSuite, Noterro, Zanda, Halaxy and TM3, plus the medical records systems athenahealth, Tebra, DrChrono, ModMed, Elation, AdvancedMD, eClinicalWorks, NextGen Office, Epic, Nextech, Healthie, Charm Health and Oscar Pro. Each is matched by name against the vendor's integrations field. Vendors marked outbound only and vendors that have not launched are not picks.
- Built for physical therapy and allied health clinics. Its description, features or practice size names physical therapy, physiotherapy, physical rehabilitation or allied health clinics. Most tracked clinic software wins; ties go to the longest stated free trial, then A to Z.
- PT software with HIPAA named. Lists physical therapy or allied health practice software and a feature or plan names HIPAA or a BAA. Most physical therapy or allied health practice software wins; ties go to the lowest published US-dollar monthly start, then A to Z.
- Patient intake and referrals. A feature names intake and a feature names referrals. Most tracked clinic software wins; ties go A to Z.
- No-show reduction with clinic software. A feature names no-shows or missed appointments and the record lists at least one tracked clinic software. Most tracked clinic software wins; ties go to the lowest published US-dollar monthly start, then A to Z.
- Budget pick with clinic software. Lowest published US-dollar monthly start among vendors in this guide that list at least one tracked clinic software; ties go A to Z.
These are vendor claims, not call-quality ratings. Read our methodology.
Quick picks for physical therapy clinics (rule-based, not paid)
| Job | Pick | Why (from our data) | Starting price as published | Trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Built for physical therapy and allied health clinics | Lyngo AI | Physical therapy, physio, physical rehab or allied health wording in the record: "Australian and UK AI receptionist for allied health clinics (physiotherapists, osteopaths, chiropractors) that books, reschedules and cancels in real time through Cliniko, Nookal, PracSuite and Splose, with per-call AUD plans."; "Built for physio, osteo and chiro clinics in Australia and the UK"; "Allied health clinics from solo practitioners to high-volume practices". Clinic software listed: Cliniko, Nookal, Splose, PracSuite. | Starter A$139/mo + GST (45 calls, then A$3/call, 20 SMS then A$0.10 each) (priced in AUD; not included in USD figures) | Free trial, 14 days |
| PT software with HIPAA named | Mayla | Physical therapy or allied health software listed: Jane App. HIPAA or BAA wording in the record: "HIPAA-compliant with BAA included (vendor claim)". Start: $499/mo. | Starter $499/mo (1 location, up to 300 calls, no setup fee); Growth $1,200/mo (up to 5 locations, 1,000 calls, $2,500 setup); Scale from $3,500/mo ($7,500 setup) | Not offered |
| Patient intake and referrals | Assort Health | Intake and referral wording in the record: "Intake and triage"; "Referrals and follow-up". Clinic software listed: athenahealth. | Quote only | Not stated |
| No-show reduction with clinic software | Kickcall | No-show wording in the record: "Recall reminders and no-show reduction". Clinic software listed: AdvancedMD, Charm Health, Oscar Pro. | Quote only | Not stated |
| Budget pick with clinic software | AgentZap | Lowest published US-dollar start among vendors here that list clinic software ($109/mo). Clinic software listed: Jane App. | Starter $109/mo (150 min, $0.85/min overage); $499 one-time training and setup fee (waived on a 6-month Professional term) | Not offered |
- Built for physical therapy and allied health clinics
- Pick: Lyngo AI
- Why (from our data): Physical therapy, physio, physical rehab or allied health wording in the record: "Australian and UK AI receptionist for allied health clinics (physiotherapists, osteopaths, chiropractors) that books, reschedules and cancels in real time through Cliniko, Nookal, PracSuite and Splose, with per-call AUD plans."; "Built for physio, osteo and chiro clinics in Australia and the UK"; "Allied health clinics from solo practitioners to high-volume practices". Clinic software listed: Cliniko, Nookal, Splose, PracSuite.
- Starting price as published: Starter A$139/mo + GST (45 calls, then A$3/call, 20 SMS then A$0.10 each) (priced in AUD; not included in USD figures)
- Trial: Free trial, 14 days
- PT software with HIPAA named
- Pick: Mayla
- Why (from our data): Physical therapy or allied health software listed: Jane App. HIPAA or BAA wording in the record: "HIPAA-compliant with BAA included (vendor claim)". Start: $499/mo.
- Starting price as published: Starter $499/mo (1 location, up to 300 calls, no setup fee); Growth $1,200/mo (up to 5 locations, 1,000 calls, $2,500 setup); Scale from $3,500/mo ($7,500 setup)
- Trial: Not offered
- Patient intake and referrals
- Pick: Assort Health
- Why (from our data): Intake and referral wording in the record: "Intake and triage"; "Referrals and follow-up". Clinic software listed: athenahealth.
- Starting price as published: Quote only
- Trial: Not stated
- No-show reduction with clinic software
- Pick: Kickcall
- Why (from our data): No-show wording in the record: "Recall reminders and no-show reduction". Clinic software listed: AdvancedMD, Charm Health, Oscar Pro.
- Starting price as published: Quote only
- Trial: Not stated
- Budget pick with clinic software
- Pick: AgentZap
- Why (from our data): Lowest published US-dollar start among vendors here that list clinic software ($109/mo). Clinic software listed: Jane App.
- Starting price as published: Starter $109/mo (150 min, $0.85/min overage); $499 one-time training and setup fee (waived on a 6-month Professional term)
- Trial: Not offered
Every vendor in this guide
Every vendor that passes the rules above, A to Z (17 in all). Prices are as published. A record with no price reads "Quote only" or "Not published". Setup or training fees in the record sit next to the start. A price in another currency names its currency, and a US-dollar price that is not a single comparable monthly start (a free plan, per-user or usage-based pricing) says why; both are left out of the US-dollar figures below. The HIPAA or BAA column quotes the vendor's own features or plans where they name HIPAA or a business associate agreement; everywhere else it reads "Not stated", which is not the same as "not offered". For every vendor tagged for medical offices, with filters and sources, see the medical office AI receptionist list.
| Vendor | Starting price | Billing unit | Trial | Clinic software listed | HIPAA or BAA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agentfabriek | Starter €249/mo + one-time setup €2,499; Prices excl. VAT (priced in EUR; not included in USD figures) | Per month | Not offered | None tracked | Not stated |
| AgentZap | Starter $109/mo (150 min, $0.85/min overage); $499 one-time training and setup fee (waived on a 6-month Professional term) | Per month | Not offered | Jane App | Not stated |
| Asisto | Pay Per Appointment: Free base + $7.99 per appointment (1 shared number, unlimited minutes); Unlimited $279/mo; Enterprise custom. Every published plan includes unlimited minutes, texts and locations. No setup fee. Prices in USD (usage-based pricing; not included in USD monthly figures) | Per month, per appointment | Not offered | None tracked | Not stated |
| Assort Health | Quote only | Not published | Not stated | athenahealth | Not stated |
| DialIQ | Essential $49/mo (50 calls, then $1.50/call) | Per month | Free trial, 7 days | None tracked | Not stated |
| Echo | Base $499/mo ($449/mo billed yearly); one-time onboarding fee quoted separately | Per month | Trial with conditions (not free) | athenahealth, eClinicalWorks, NextGen Office | HIPAA compliance with signed BAA |
| FrontDesk (frontdesk.care) | Pro $299/mo or $249/mo billed annually (500 AI min, 500 staff calling min, 2,000 texts) | Per month | 14-day Pro trial (50 AI minutes), then a free plan with 15 AI minutes/month; no card required | athenahealth, DrChrono, Epic | Not stated |
| Greetmate | Pro (1 location, 800 min/mo), Growth (2 to 3 locations, 2,000 min/mo), Multi (5+ locations, custom); overage $0.18/min; vendor says most customers invest $1,000 to $5,000/mo (no comparable monthly start in our data; not included in USD figures) | Per month | Not stated | Cliniko, athenahealth, Tebra, DrChrono, ModMed, Elation, AdvancedMD, Epic, Nextech, Healthie | Not stated |
| Kickcall | Quote only | Not published | Not stated | AdvancedMD, Charm Health, Oscar Pro | Not stated |
| Lippy AI | Solo $185/mo billed monthly or $154/mo billed annually (420 min, inbound only, 1 agent) | Per month | Not stated | None tracked | HIPAA-ready options on Enterprise; Enterprise custom with HIPAA BAA |
| Lyngo AI | Starter A$139/mo + GST (45 calls, then A$3/call, 20 SMS then A$0.10 each) (priced in AUD; not included in USD figures) | Per month | Free trial, 14 days | Cliniko, Nookal, Splose, PracSuite | Not stated |
| Mayla | Starter $499/mo (1 location, up to 300 calls, no setup fee); Growth $1,200/mo (up to 5 locations, 1,000 calls, $2,500 setup); Scale from $3,500/mo ($7,500 setup) | Per month | Not offered | Jane App | HIPAA-compliant with BAA included (vendor claim) |
| Medreception AI | Studio self-serve $299/mo | Per month | Not stated | athenahealth, Tebra, ModMed, Elation, eClinicalWorks, Nextech | Not stated |
| PolyAI | Quote only | Not published | Not stated | None tracked | Not stated |
| Prosper AI | Quote only | Not published | Not stated | athenahealth | Not stated |
| Sarah 24/7 | $350/mo base for a single location with one channel, plus $100/mo per additional channel and usage from 15 cents per minute of conversation. Custom terms for larger accounts (usage-based pricing; not included in USD monthly figures) | Per month | No free plan or free trial; the live demo callback is free | None tracked | Not stated |
| Solwees | Per location: Solo €99/mo (AI assistant answers calls using call-minute packs bought separately) (priced in EUR; not included in USD figures) | Per month, per location | Free trial, 7 days, no card required | None tracked | Not stated |
- Agentfabriek
- Starting price: Starter €249/mo + one-time setup €2,499; Prices excl. VAT (priced in EUR; not included in USD figures)
- Billing unit: Per month
- Trial: Not offered
- Clinic software listed: None tracked
- HIPAA or BAA: Not stated
- AgentZap
- Starting price: Starter $109/mo (150 min, $0.85/min overage); $499 one-time training and setup fee (waived on a 6-month Professional term)
- Billing unit: Per month
- Trial: Not offered
- Clinic software listed: Jane App
- HIPAA or BAA: Not stated
- Asisto
- Starting price: Pay Per Appointment: Free base + $7.99 per appointment (1 shared number, unlimited minutes); Unlimited $279/mo; Enterprise custom. Every published plan includes unlimited minutes, texts and locations. No setup fee. Prices in USD (usage-based pricing; not included in USD monthly figures)
- Billing unit: Per month, per appointment
- Trial: Not offered
- Clinic software listed: None tracked
- HIPAA or BAA: Not stated
- Assort Health
- Starting price: Quote only
- Billing unit: Not published
- Trial: Not stated
- Clinic software listed: athenahealth
- HIPAA or BAA: Not stated
- DialIQ
- Starting price: Essential $49/mo (50 calls, then $1.50/call)
- Billing unit: Per month
- Trial: Free trial, 7 days
- Clinic software listed: None tracked
- HIPAA or BAA: Not stated
- Echo
- Starting price: Base $499/mo ($449/mo billed yearly); one-time onboarding fee quoted separately
- Billing unit: Per month
- Trial: Trial with conditions (not free)
- Clinic software listed: athenahealth, eClinicalWorks, NextGen Office
- HIPAA or BAA: HIPAA compliance with signed BAA
- FrontDesk (frontdesk.care)
- Starting price: Pro $299/mo or $249/mo billed annually (500 AI min, 500 staff calling min, 2,000 texts)
- Billing unit: Per month
- Trial: 14-day Pro trial (50 AI minutes), then a free plan with 15 AI minutes/month; no card required
- Clinic software listed: athenahealth, DrChrono, Epic
- HIPAA or BAA: Not stated
- Greetmate
- Starting price: Pro (1 location, 800 min/mo), Growth (2 to 3 locations, 2,000 min/mo), Multi (5+ locations, custom); overage $0.18/min; vendor says most customers invest $1,000 to $5,000/mo (no comparable monthly start in our data; not included in USD figures)
- Billing unit: Per month
- Trial: Not stated
- Clinic software listed: Cliniko, athenahealth, Tebra, DrChrono, ModMed, Elation, AdvancedMD, Epic, Nextech, Healthie
- HIPAA or BAA: Not stated
- Kickcall
- Starting price: Quote only
- Billing unit: Not published
- Trial: Not stated
- Clinic software listed: AdvancedMD, Charm Health, Oscar Pro
- HIPAA or BAA: Not stated
- Lippy AI
- Starting price: Solo $185/mo billed monthly or $154/mo billed annually (420 min, inbound only, 1 agent)
- Billing unit: Per month
- Trial: Not stated
- Clinic software listed: None tracked
- HIPAA or BAA: HIPAA-ready options on Enterprise; Enterprise custom with HIPAA BAA
- Lyngo AI
- Starting price: Starter A$139/mo + GST (45 calls, then A$3/call, 20 SMS then A$0.10 each) (priced in AUD; not included in USD figures)
- Billing unit: Per month
- Trial: Free trial, 14 days
- Clinic software listed: Cliniko, Nookal, Splose, PracSuite
- HIPAA or BAA: Not stated
- Mayla
- Starting price: Starter $499/mo (1 location, up to 300 calls, no setup fee); Growth $1,200/mo (up to 5 locations, 1,000 calls, $2,500 setup); Scale from $3,500/mo ($7,500 setup)
- Billing unit: Per month
- Trial: Not offered
- Clinic software listed: Jane App
- HIPAA or BAA: HIPAA-compliant with BAA included (vendor claim)
- Medreception AI
- Starting price: Studio self-serve $299/mo
- Billing unit: Per month
- Trial: Not stated
- Clinic software listed: athenahealth, Tebra, ModMed, Elation, eClinicalWorks, Nextech
- HIPAA or BAA: Not stated
- PolyAI
- Starting price: Quote only
- Billing unit: Not published
- Trial: Not stated
- Clinic software listed: None tracked
- HIPAA or BAA: Not stated
- Prosper AI
- Starting price: Quote only
- Billing unit: Not published
- Trial: Not stated
- Clinic software listed: athenahealth
- HIPAA or BAA: Not stated
- Sarah 24/7
- Starting price: $350/mo base for a single location with one channel, plus $100/mo per additional channel and usage from 15 cents per minute of conversation. Custom terms for larger accounts (usage-based pricing; not included in USD monthly figures)
- Billing unit: Per month
- Trial: No free plan or free trial; the live demo callback is free
- Clinic software listed: None tracked
- HIPAA or BAA: Not stated
- Solwees
- Starting price: Per location: Solo €99/mo (AI assistant answers calls using call-minute packs bought separately) (priced in EUR; not included in USD figures)
- Billing unit: Per month, per location
- Trial: Free trial, 7 days, no card required
- Clinic software listed: None tracked
- HIPAA or BAA: Not stated
Booking and clinic software: what to check on the demo
Integration names in our data are vendor-reported. A listed system tells you the vendor says it connects to it, not whether it books straight into your schedule or only sends a link. In our records, 4 vendors in this guide list physical therapy or allied health software. By system: WebPT: no vendor in this guide lists it; Prompt Health: no vendor in this guide lists it; Raintree: no vendor in this guide lists it; Net Health: no vendor in this guide lists it; Jane App: AgentZap and Mayla; Cliniko: Greetmate and Lyngo AI; Nookal: Lyngo AI; Splose: Lyngo AI; PracSuite: Lyngo AI; Noterro: no vendor in this guide lists it; Zanda: no vendor in this guide lists it; Halaxy: no vendor in this guide lists it; TM3: no vendor in this guide lists it. Medical records systems listed: athenahealth: Assort Health, Echo, FrontDesk (frontdesk.care), Greetmate, Medreception AI and Prosper AI; Tebra: Greetmate and Medreception AI; DrChrono: FrontDesk (frontdesk.care) and Greetmate; ModMed: Greetmate and Medreception AI; Elation: Greetmate and Medreception AI; AdvancedMD: Greetmate and Kickcall; eClinicalWorks: Echo and Medreception AI; NextGen Office: Echo; Epic: FrontDesk (frontdesk.care) and Greetmate; Nextech: Greetmate and Medreception AI; Healthie: Greetmate; Charm Health: Kickcall; Oscar Pro: Kickcall. 2 records name physical therapy, physiotherapy, physical rehabilitation or allied health clinics directly: Agentfabriek ("Netherlands EUR AI receptionist platform for salons, dental and physio clinics that combines a one-time setup fee, a fixed monthly platform fee and AI usage billed at cost per minute.") and Lyngo AI ("Australian and UK AI receptionist for allied health clinics (physiotherapists, osteopaths, chiropractors) that books, reschedules and cancels in real time through Cliniko, Nookal, PracSuite and Splose, with per-call AUD plans."; "Built for physio, osteo and chiro clinics in Australia and the UK"; "Allied health clinics from solo practitioners to high-volume practices"). What the quick picks say about booking, in their own words:
- Lyngo AI: clinic software listed Cliniko, Nookal, Splose, PracSuite. Booking wording in the record: "Real-time booking in Cliniko, Nookal, PracSuite and Splose".
- Mayla: clinic software listed Jane App. Booking wording in the record: "Real-time appointment booking".
- Assort Health: clinic software listed athenahealth. Booking wording in the record: "Patient scheduling by phone".
- Kickcall: clinic software listed AdvancedMD, Charm Health, Oscar Pro. Booking wording in the record: "Real-time scheduling into the PMS or EHR".
- AgentZap: clinic software listed Jane App. Booking wording in the record: "Real-time calendar booking".
On the demo, call in as a new patient and as an existing one partway through a plan of care. Check whether the AI books an initial evaluation and a follow-up visit at the right lengths with the right therapist, whether it can set up or move a run of recurring visits, what it asks about referrals, insurance or injury claims, what lands in your practice software afterwards, and how a caller with a new injury or worsening symptoms reaches a person. If you are in the US, ask whether the vendor will sign a business associate agreement and where call recordings and transcripts are stored. Your own privacy obligations still apply when the receptionist is software.
Price bands in our data
Of the 17 vendors in this guide, 7 publish a comparable US-dollar monthly starting price. The median paid start among them is $299/month. The cheapest five: DialIQ: Essential $49/mo (50 calls, then $1.50/call), AgentZap: Starter $109/mo (150 min, $0.85/min overage); $499 one-time training and setup fee (waived on a 6-month Professional term), Lippy AI: Solo $185/mo billed monthly or $154/mo billed annually (420 min, inbound only, 1 agent), FrontDesk (frontdesk.care): Pro $299/mo or $249/mo billed annually (500 AI min, 500 staff calling min, 2,000 texts) and Medreception AI: Studio self-serve $299/mo. Entry plans differ in minutes, calls, booking and practice software access, so compare what each one includes.
Prices in other or mixed currencies stay as published and are left out of the US-dollar figures: Agentfabriek (Starter €249/mo + one-time setup €2,499; priced in EUR), Lyngo AI (Starter A$139/mo + GST (45 calls, then A$3/call, 20 SMS then A$0.10 each); priced in AUD) and Solwees (Per location: Solo €99/mo (AI assistant answers calls using call-minute packs bought separately); priced in EUR). Some plans bill per call or per minute on top of the monthly start, so check the billing unit column and the overage terms. For the full market picture, read the AI receptionist pricing report and the cost guide.
FAQ
What is the best AI receptionist for a physical therapy clinic?
It depends on the job, so this page has no single winner. By our published rules the picks are Lyngo AI (built for physical therapy and allied health clinics), Mayla (PT software with HIPAA named), Assort Health (patient intake and referrals), Kickcall (no-show reduction with clinic software) and AgentZap (budget pick with clinic software). Each rule is listed above, and each pick should still take a test booking call for your own clinic before you choose.
How much does an AI receptionist for physical therapy cost?
Among the 7 vendors in this guide with a comparable US-dollar monthly start, the median paid start is $299/month. The cheapest five: DialIQ: Essential $49/mo (50 calls, then $1.50/call), AgentZap: Starter $109/mo (150 min, $0.85/min overage); $499 one-time training and setup fee (waived on a 6-month Professional term), Lippy AI: Solo $185/mo billed monthly or $154/mo billed annually (420 min, inbound only, 1 agent), FrontDesk (frontdesk.care): Pro $299/mo or $249/mo billed annually (500 AI min, 500 staff calling min, 2,000 texts) and Medreception AI: Studio self-serve $299/mo. Some vendors bill per call or quote only, so check the billing unit in the table above. See the pricing report for wider context.
Does an AI receptionist work with WebPT, Jane App or Cliniko?
In our data, 4 vendors in this guide list physical therapy or allied health software. Systems with at least one vendor: Jane App: AgentZap and Mayla; Cliniko: Greetmate and Lyngo AI; Nookal: Lyngo AI; Splose: Lyngo AI; PracSuite: Lyngo AI. The section above lists every tracked system, including those no vendor lists. These integrations are vendor-reported, so ask each vendor to show a test booking reaching your own practice software.
Which AI receptionists for physical therapy mention HIPAA?
3 records in this guide name HIPAA or a BAA in their features or plans: Echo ("HIPAA compliance with signed BAA"), Lippy AI ("HIPAA-ready options on Enterprise"; "Enterprise custom with HIPAA BAA") and Mayla ("HIPAA-compliant with BAA included (vendor claim)"). For every other vendor no feature or plan names HIPAA or a BAA, so ask before you share patient details.
Which AI receptionists for physical therapy have a free trial?
2 vendors in this guide list a free trial or free plan with no card required. Among those that list tracked clinic software: FrontDesk (frontdesk.care) (14-day Pro trial (50 AI minutes), then a free plan with 15 AI minutes/month; no card required). Trial terms for every vendor are in the table above, and the free trial guide has more.
Related
- AI receptionist for medical offices and the best AI receptionist for chiropractors
- Best AI receptionist for dentists, the best AI receptionist for med spas and the best AI receptionist by use case
- AI receptionist cost, free trials and the pricing report
Picks are rule-based and never sold. Vendor facts are claims from each vendor's own record, with sources on its vendor page. Read our methodology before you buy.