Buyer guide
Best veterinary answering service in 2026 (AI picks for clinics, with PIMS and after-hours notes)
Start with the calls your clinic misses: a client booking a vaccine while the desk is busy, a refill request at lunch or a worried owner after closing. This editorial shortlist considers all 20 veterinary-tagged vendors in our directory. Prices, trials and integrations come from the catalog at build time, with each pick's source and checked date below. Picks are independent of sponsorship.
How we picked
- Markets to vets. The vendor's own record describes a veterinary product or a veterinary setup. Dental-first products and general receptionists that carry the tag are not picks.
- PIMS named in the record. Practice management systems such as AVImark, Cornerstone and ezyVet come from vendor records. A named PIMS is a reason to ask for a demo in your own system, not proof of booking write-back.
- Emergency routing as the vendor describes it. We note what each vendor says it does with urgent calls. We have not tested call handling.
- Published price. Prices are the vendor's own plan text. Non-USD prices stay in their own currency and are left out of USD comparisons.
- Trial. Trial length and card terms come from each record.
These are vendor claims, not call-quality ratings. Read our methodology.
Quick picks for vet clinics (editorial, not paid)
| Use case | Pick | Why (from our data) | Plan and price as published | Overage and usage | Trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Your PIMS is named in the record | PupPilot | Vet PIMS listed: Avimark, Cornerstone, ezyVet, Shepherd, NaVetor. Also claims 130+ PIMS. Vendor-reported; confirm booking write-back in your own PIMS. | Not published | No overage rate in our record | Free trial, 7 days; 1-week free trial after config call |
| Your PIMS is named in the record | VetRec AI Receptionist | Vet PIMS listed: Vetspire, ezyVet, Cornerstone, Instinct, Avimark. Vendor-reported; confirm booking write-back in your own PIMS. | AI Receptionist Starter $299/mo (up to 500 calls + online booking) | extra calls $0.65 each | Not stated |
| Your PIMS is named in the record | Brainova Talk | Vet PIMS listed: Cornerstone, AVImark, ezyVet, Shepherd, Digitail, Provet, Instinct. Vendor-reported; confirm booking write-back in your own PIMS. | Custom; from $499 USD / $699 CAD per month as an indicative entry point, scaled to scope. Currency as published (USD and CAD); not included in USD comparisons | No overage rate in our record | Not stated |
| Your PIMS is named in the record | DeskCaller | Vet PIMS listed: IDEXX Cornerstone, ezyVet. Vendor-reported; confirm booking write-back in your own PIMS. | Starter GBP 48/mo (120 min, about 40 calls). Currency as published (GBP); not included in USD comparisons | No overage rate in our record | Not stated |
| Your PIMS is named in the record | FrontDesk (frontdesk.care) | Vet PIMS listed: IDEXX Cornerstone. Other listed systems are not veterinary. Vendor-reported; confirm booking write-back in your own PIMS. | Pro $299/mo or $249/mo billed annually (500 AI min, 500 staff calling min, 2,000 texts) | No overage rate in our record | Free trial, 14 days, no card required; 14-day Pro trial (50 AI minutes), then a free plan with 15 AI minutes/month; no credit card |
| After-hours plan for a single clinic | PawAnswer | The entry plan covers after-hours answering only, with a minute allowance. | Essentials $99/mo (after-hours answering, 250 min) | No overage rate in our record | Free trial, 14 days, no card required; 14-day free trial, no card, free setup |
| Daytime overflow plus booking | PawAnswer | 24/7 answering with real-time booking and live transfer on this plan. | Front Desk $299/mo, founding offer $199/mo locked 24 months for first 20 clinics (24/7 answering, real-time booking, live transfer, 1,000 min) | No overage rate in our record | Free trial, 14 days, no card required; 14-day free trial, no card, free setup |
| Daytime overflow plus booking | VetRec AI Receptionist | 24/7 phone, SMS, chat and online booking. The online-booking-only plan is not an AI receptionist plan. | AI Receptionist Starter $299/mo (up to 500 calls + online booking) | extra calls $0.65 each | Not stated |
| Daytime overflow plus booking | FrontDesk (frontdesk.care) | Appointment booking and reminders. Built for healthcare practices generally, not only vets. | Pro $299/mo or $249/mo billed annually (500 AI min, 500 staff calling min, 2,000 texts) | No overage rate in our record | Free trial, 14 days, no card required; 14-day Pro trial (50 AI minutes), then a free plan with 15 AI minutes/month; no credit card |
| Multi-location groups | FrontDesk (frontdesk.care) | Both plans state location coverage for groups in the plan text. Confirm per-location routing and PIMS links. | Elite $599/mo (1,150 AI min, up to 3 locations, custom voice); Enterprise custom for DSOs, med spas and multi-location groups | No overage rate in our record | Free trial, 14 days, no card required; 14-day Pro trial (50 AI minutes), then a free plan with 15 AI minutes/month; no credit card |
| Custom scope for larger practices | Brainova Talk | Practice size in our record: Veterinary clinics; custom scoping. Multi-location support is not stated, so ask. | Custom; from $499 USD / $699 CAD per month as an indicative entry point, scaled to scope. Currency as published (USD and CAD); not included in USD comparisons | No overage rate in our record | Not stated |
| Quote only | PupPilot | No price in our record. Practice size: Single clinics to multi-location veterinary groups. | Not published (quote only) | No overage rate in our record | Free trial, 7 days; 1-week free trial after config call |
| Quote only | Dodo | No price in our record. Practice size: Single clinics to multi-location and enterprise groups. | Not published (quote only) | No overage rate in our record | Not stated |
- Your PIMS is named in the record
- Pick: PupPilot
- Why (from our data): Vet PIMS listed: Avimark, Cornerstone, ezyVet, Shepherd, NaVetor. Also claims 130+ PIMS. Vendor-reported; confirm booking write-back in your own PIMS.
- Plan and price as published: Not published
- Overage and usage: No overage rate in our record
- Trial: Free trial, 7 days; 1-week free trial after config call
- Your PIMS is named in the record
- Pick: VetRec AI Receptionist
- Why (from our data): Vet PIMS listed: Vetspire, ezyVet, Cornerstone, Instinct, Avimark. Vendor-reported; confirm booking write-back in your own PIMS.
- Plan and price as published: AI Receptionist Starter $299/mo (up to 500 calls + online booking)
- Overage and usage: extra calls $0.65 each
- Trial: Not stated
- Your PIMS is named in the record
- Pick: Brainova Talk
- Why (from our data): Vet PIMS listed: Cornerstone, AVImark, ezyVet, Shepherd, Digitail, Provet, Instinct. Vendor-reported; confirm booking write-back in your own PIMS.
- Plan and price as published: Custom; from $499 USD / $699 CAD per month as an indicative entry point, scaled to scope. Currency as published (USD and CAD); not included in USD comparisons
- Overage and usage: No overage rate in our record
- Trial: Not stated
- Your PIMS is named in the record
- Pick: DeskCaller
- Why (from our data): Vet PIMS listed: IDEXX Cornerstone, ezyVet. Vendor-reported; confirm booking write-back in your own PIMS.
- Plan and price as published: Starter GBP 48/mo (120 min, about 40 calls). Currency as published (GBP); not included in USD comparisons
- Overage and usage: No overage rate in our record
- Trial: Not stated
- Your PIMS is named in the record
- Pick: FrontDesk (frontdesk.care)
- Why (from our data): Vet PIMS listed: IDEXX Cornerstone. Other listed systems are not veterinary. Vendor-reported; confirm booking write-back in your own PIMS.
- Plan and price as published: Pro $299/mo or $249/mo billed annually (500 AI min, 500 staff calling min, 2,000 texts)
- Overage and usage: No overage rate in our record
- Trial: Free trial, 14 days, no card required; 14-day Pro trial (50 AI minutes), then a free plan with 15 AI minutes/month; no credit card
- After-hours plan for a single clinic
- Pick: PawAnswer
- Why (from our data): The entry plan covers after-hours answering only, with a minute allowance.
- Plan and price as published: Essentials $99/mo (after-hours answering, 250 min)
- Overage and usage: No overage rate in our record
- Trial: Free trial, 14 days, no card required; 14-day free trial, no card, free setup
- Daytime overflow plus booking
- Pick: PawAnswer
- Why (from our data): 24/7 answering with real-time booking and live transfer on this plan.
- Plan and price as published: Front Desk $299/mo, founding offer $199/mo locked 24 months for first 20 clinics (24/7 answering, real-time booking, live transfer, 1,000 min)
- Overage and usage: No overage rate in our record
- Trial: Free trial, 14 days, no card required; 14-day free trial, no card, free setup
- Daytime overflow plus booking
- Pick: VetRec AI Receptionist
- Why (from our data): 24/7 phone, SMS, chat and online booking. The online-booking-only plan is not an AI receptionist plan.
- Plan and price as published: AI Receptionist Starter $299/mo (up to 500 calls + online booking)
- Overage and usage: extra calls $0.65 each
- Trial: Not stated
- Daytime overflow plus booking
- Pick: FrontDesk (frontdesk.care)
- Why (from our data): Appointment booking and reminders. Built for healthcare practices generally, not only vets.
- Plan and price as published: Pro $299/mo or $249/mo billed annually (500 AI min, 500 staff calling min, 2,000 texts)
- Overage and usage: No overage rate in our record
- Trial: Free trial, 14 days, no card required; 14-day Pro trial (50 AI minutes), then a free plan with 15 AI minutes/month; no credit card
- Multi-location groups
- Pick: FrontDesk (frontdesk.care)
- Why (from our data): Both plans state location coverage for groups in the plan text. Confirm per-location routing and PIMS links.
- Plan and price as published: Elite $599/mo (1,150 AI min, up to 3 locations, custom voice); Enterprise custom for DSOs, med spas and multi-location groups
- Overage and usage: No overage rate in our record
- Trial: Free trial, 14 days, no card required; 14-day Pro trial (50 AI minutes), then a free plan with 15 AI minutes/month; no credit card
- Custom scope for larger practices
- Pick: Brainova Talk
- Why (from our data): Practice size in our record: Veterinary clinics; custom scoping. Multi-location support is not stated, so ask.
- Plan and price as published: Custom; from $499 USD / $699 CAD per month as an indicative entry point, scaled to scope. Currency as published (USD and CAD); not included in USD comparisons
- Overage and usage: No overage rate in our record
- Trial: Not stated
- Quote only
- Pick: PupPilot
- Why (from our data): No price in our record. Practice size: Single clinics to multi-location veterinary groups.
- Plan and price as published: Not published (quote only)
- Overage and usage: No overage rate in our record
- Trial: Free trial, 7 days; 1-week free trial after config call
- Quote only
- Pick: Dodo
- Why (from our data): No price in our record. Practice size: Single clinics to multi-location and enterprise groups.
- Plan and price as published: Not published (quote only)
- Overage and usage: No overage rate in our record
- Trial: Not stated
Free trial without a card, from the trial records: FrontDesk (frontdesk.care) (14-day Pro trial (50 AI minutes), then a free plan with 15 AI minutes/month; no credit card) and PawAnswer (14-day free trial, no card, free setup).
General tools with a vet page or vet setup in their own record (not picks): Balaay (Starter $29/mo (250 voice min then $0.15/min); Free trial, 30 days, no card required; 30-day free trial, no card, month to month) and DialIQ (Essential $49/mo (50 calls, then $1.50/call); Free trial, 7 days).
The picks and their limits
PupPilot
PupPilot is picked for: your PIMS is named in the record; quote only.
Pricing as published: Not published. Trial: Free trial, 7 days; 1-week free trial after config call.
Integrations as listed: Avimark, Cornerstone, ezyVet, Shepherd, NaVetor, 130+ PIMS. Vendor source, checked 15 Oct 2026.
VetRec AI Receptionist
VetRec AI Receptionist is picked for: your PIMS is named in the record; daytime overflow plus booking.
Pricing as published: Online Booking only $99/mo; AI Receptionist Starter $299/mo (up to 500 calls + online booking); AI Receptionist Plus $499/mo (up to 1,000 calls); extra calls $0.65 each; custom volume available. Trial: Not stated.
Integrations as listed: Vetspire, ezyVet, Cornerstone, Instinct, Avimark. Vendor source, checked 15 Oct 2026.
Brainova Talk
Brainova Talk is picked for: your PIMS is named in the record; custom scope for larger practices.
Pricing as published: Custom; from $499 USD / $699 CAD per month as an indicative entry point, scaled to scope. Currency as published (USD and CAD); not included in USD comparisons. Trial: Not stated.
Integrations as listed: Cornerstone, AVImark, ezyVet, Shepherd, Digitail, Provet, Instinct. Vendor source, checked 15 Oct 2026.
DeskCaller
DeskCaller is picked for: your PIMS is named in the record.
Pricing as published: Starter GBP 48/mo (120 min, about 40 calls); Growth GBP 105/mo (300 min, about 100 calls); Pro GBP 225/mo (750 min, about 250 calls); annual billing saves 25%; pay-as-you-go credits also offered. No setup fee, no contract. Currency as published (GBP); not included in USD comparisons. Trial: Not stated.
Integrations as listed: IDEXX Cornerstone, ezyVet. Vendor source, checked 15 Oct 2026.
FrontDesk (frontdesk.care)
FrontDesk (frontdesk.care) is picked for: your PIMS is named in the record; daytime overflow plus booking; multi-location groups.
Pricing as published: Pro $299/mo or $249/mo billed annually (500 AI min, 500 staff calling min, 2,000 texts); Elite $599/mo (1,150 AI min, up to 3 locations, custom voice); Enterprise custom for DSOs, med spas and multi-location groups. No setup fees. Trial: Free trial, 14 days, no card required; 14-day Pro trial (50 AI minutes), then a free plan with 15 AI minutes/month; no credit card.
Integrations as listed: IDEXX Cornerstone, Dentrix, Open Dental, Eaglesoft, athenahealth, DrChrono, Epic. Vendor source, checked 15 Oct 2026.
PawAnswer
PawAnswer is picked for: after-hours plan for a single clinic; daytime overflow plus booking.
Pricing as published: Essentials $99/mo (after-hours answering, 250 min); Front Desk $299/mo, founding offer $199/mo locked 24 months for first 20 clinics (24/7 answering, real-time booking, live transfer, 1,000 min); Practice+ $599/mo (up to 3 locations, 3,000 pooled min). Trial: Free trial, 14 days, no card required; 14-day free trial, no card, free setup.
Integrations as listed: None named. Vendor source, checked 15 Oct 2026.
Dodo
Dodo is picked for: quote only.
Pricing as published: Not published. Trial: Not stated.
Integrations as listed: None named. Vendor source, checked 15 Oct 2026.
Emergencies and after-hours calls
An AI receptionist does not examine animals, give clinical advice or decide how urgent a case is. What vendors describe is call routing: following the rules your clinic sets, it can pass an urgent call to the on-call vet, give the details of the emergency hospital you name or alert your team. What the picks say in our records:
- VetRec AI Receptionist: Urgency routing and emergency escalation.
- Brainova Talk: Emergency handoff to on-call DVM.
- DeskCaller: Urgent-call flagging for vets.
- PawAnswer: Emergency flagging and escalation, never gives medical advice.
- Dodo: 24/7 call and text answering with urgency routing; Emergency detection with on-call alerts.
Before you go live, write the rules yourself: which words or situations send a call to a person, who is on call each night, which emergency hospital callers hear about and what happens when the on-call vet does not answer. Test each path with real calls.
AI receptionist vs human answering service for clinics
A human answering service can talk with a distressed owner and use judgement about who to wake up, within the protocol you give it. An AI receptionist can answer every line at once, book routine visits and take refill requests within the workflow you configure. Many clinics compare both for overflow and after-hours coverage. Read AI receptionist vs human receptionist for the trade-offs, then ask each provider about coverage, escalation and what it costs at your volume.
Cost at your call volume
Among the picks with a USD monthly list price, the lowest start is $99/mo (PawAnswer: Essentials $99/mo (after-hours answering, 250 min)); per-call and per-minute overages sit next to each price in the table above, and Brainova Talk and DeskCaller are priced outside that USD comparison, so enter your monthly calls and average call length in the AI receptionist cost calculator before you compare.
Veterinary, medical or dental
Use the full veterinary AI receptionist list for every tagged vendor, with filters, pricing and sources. A practice that sees people rather than pets has different systems and rules: see AI receptionists for medical offices, dentists or med spas. For more pricing context, read the cost guide and pricing report.
FAQ
What is the best veterinary answering service?
It depends on the job: booking into a PIMS you already use, an after-hours plan for one clinic, daytime overflow with booking or coverage for several locations. The quick picks above use current catalog facts for each of those jobs. Ask each vendor to show a booking and an urgent call in your own setup before choosing.
Can an AI receptionist book into AVImark, Cornerstone or ezyVet?
Some picks name these systems in their records. AVImark: PupPilot, VetRec AI Receptionist and Brainova Talk; Cornerstone: PupPilot, VetRec AI Receptionist, Brainova Talk, DeskCaller and FrontDesk (frontdesk.care); ezyVet: PupPilot, VetRec AI Receptionist, Brainova Talk and DeskCaller. Integrations are vendor-reported, so ask whether the tool writes the appointment into your PIMS during the call or sends a request for staff to finish.
How do AI answering services handle pet emergencies after hours?
They route calls rather than assess them. Following rules your clinic sets, a vendor may transfer the call to the on-call vet, give the emergency hospital you name or alert your team. None of this is clinical advice, so test every emergency path before relying on it.
How much does a veterinary answering service cost per month?
Among the picks with a USD monthly list price, the lowest start is $99/mo (PawAnswer: Essentials $99/mo (after-hours answering, 250 min)). Check call or minute allowances and overage rates, and use the cost guide for wider context. Prices in other currencies are shown as published and not compared in USD.
Which veterinary answering services have a free trial without a card?
From the current records: FrontDesk (frontdesk.care) and PawAnswer. Read the trial terms with each pick, then see the free trial guide for more options.
Can we use AI for daytime overflow and a human service at night?
Some clinics split coverage that way. Check that each service can follow the same escalation rules, that call forwarding switches at the right time and that messages from both reach the same place. Compare the trade-offs in AI receptionist vs human receptionist.
Related
- Veterinary AI receptionists, medical offices and dentists
- AI receptionist cost, free trials and the pricing report
Picks are editorial and never sold. Vendor facts are claims from the sources linked above, with their checked dates. Read our methodology before you buy.