Buyer guide
Best answering service for auto repair in 2026 (AI picks for booking, VINs and after-hours)
Vendor data checked 16 Oct 2026. Looking for the best answering service for an auto repair shop? This shortlist uses only the 30 vendors tagged auto repair in the AI Front Desk List directory and picks by job: appointments into your shop software, vehicle intake, dealership service lanes and a low published entry price. Every price is as published by the vendor and recorded in our data, with per-call, per-minute and setup charges shown where the vendor lists them. Every shop system named here is one the vendor lists on its own site; we have not tested any write-back. No listing on this page is paid.
Want every option? The AI receptionist for auto repair page lists all 30 A to Z.
How we picked
- Directory only. Every pick is a live listing tagged auto repair in our data. Of the 30, 23 publish pricing and 13 offer a free trial or free plan.
- Shop and dealership language on the vendor's own site. Auto-first products lead. Several vendors carry the auto repair tag as one use case among many; they appear only where their record supports the job.
- Systems as listed. Shop software and dealership systems come from each vendor's integrations as recorded. A listing is the vendor's own claim, not a test result.
- Published price preferred, usage shown. Quote-only products can still be picks; their price shows as Not published. Where a plan bills calls, minutes or setup on top, the price says so.
No star ratings or reviews. See our methodology.
Quick picks for auto repair (editorial, not paid)
| Use case | Pick | Why (from our data) | Starting price as published | Trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Appointments into Tekmetric, Shopmonkey or Mitchell 1 | VoiceController | Third-party integrations, including the shop calendar write-back, are on its Advanced plan; recognises returning customers with vehicle history | Advanced $199/mo monthly or $179/mo yearly (300 calls, third-party integrations, multilingual). All plans require a $100 setup fee. | Trial with conditions (not free) |
| On AutoLeap, or paying per call | AutoLeap AIR | Captures vehicle details and service needs; places appointment requests on the AutoLeap calendar; routes callers to staff | Pay as you go $1/call; $100 setup fee may apply | Trial with conditions (not free) |
| Add AI to your current shop software | VMOTEK AI Shop Assistant | Calls, texts and web chat; books against technician and bay availability; confirm the call allowance before buying | $99/mo add-on (200 AI-handled calls on the plan card, 260 in the pricing FAQ; 1,000 SMS). Extra calls $0.60 each; 1,000 extra SMS $15. | Not stated |
| Shop app and CRM with Tekmetric or Shopmonkey sync | Autivo AI Receptionist | Books drop-offs that sync to Tekmetric or Shopmonkey; answers from the shop profile without inventing prices | Included on Growth $399/mo (100 AI receptionist min/mo) and Pro $699/mo (400 min/mo); Overage $0.25/min | Not stated |
| Dealership service lane, VINs and recalls | Workforce Wave | Automotive version decodes VINs, checks recall status and books service appointments inside dealer management systems | $0 (free plan) | Free plan: first agent with 100 minutes; no card required |
| Low entry price, free trial with no card | ModPhone | Auto shop service booking, hours and pricing FAQs and warm transfers to service writers | Starter $49/mo (200 min, 200 texts); Overage from $0.10-$0.15/min | 30-day free trial with a real US number, 100 voice minutes and 100 texts; no card required |
| Quick lube and tire shops | Mxpert | Price checks and tire availability answers from shop data; appointment booking at every location | Not published | Not stated |
- Appointments into Tekmetric, Shopmonkey or Mitchell 1
- Pick: VoiceController
- Why (from our data): Third-party integrations, including the shop calendar write-back, are on its Advanced plan; recognises returning customers with vehicle history
- Starting price as published: Advanced $199/mo monthly or $179/mo yearly (300 calls, third-party integrations, multilingual). All plans require a $100 setup fee.
- Trial: Trial with conditions (not free)
- On AutoLeap, or paying per call
- Pick: AutoLeap AIR
- Why (from our data): Captures vehicle details and service needs; places appointment requests on the AutoLeap calendar; routes callers to staff
- Starting price as published: Pay as you go $1/call; $100 setup fee may apply
- Trial: Trial with conditions (not free)
- Add AI to your current shop software
- Pick: VMOTEK AI Shop Assistant
- Why (from our data): Calls, texts and web chat; books against technician and bay availability; confirm the call allowance before buying
- Starting price as published: $99/mo add-on (200 AI-handled calls on the plan card, 260 in the pricing FAQ; 1,000 SMS). Extra calls $0.60 each; 1,000 extra SMS $15.
- Trial: Not stated
- Shop app and CRM with Tekmetric or Shopmonkey sync
- Pick: Autivo AI Receptionist
- Why (from our data): Books drop-offs that sync to Tekmetric or Shopmonkey; answers from the shop profile without inventing prices
- Starting price as published: Included on Growth $399/mo (100 AI receptionist min/mo) and Pro $699/mo (400 min/mo); Overage $0.25/min
- Trial: Not stated
- Dealership service lane, VINs and recalls
- Pick: Workforce Wave
- Why (from our data): Automotive version decodes VINs, checks recall status and books service appointments inside dealer management systems
- Starting price as published: $0 (free plan)
- Trial: Free plan: first agent with 100 minutes; no card required
- Low entry price, free trial with no card
- Pick: ModPhone
- Why (from our data): Auto shop service booking, hours and pricing FAQs and warm transfers to service writers
- Starting price as published: Starter $49/mo (200 min, 200 texts); Overage from $0.10-$0.15/min
- Trial: 30-day free trial with a real US number, 100 voice minutes and 100 texts; no card required
- Quick lube and tire shops
- Pick: Mxpert
- Why (from our data): Price checks and tire availability answers from shop data; appointment booking at every location
- Starting price as published: Not published
- Trial: Not stated
Best shop-native AI (auto-first products)
Pick: VoiceController. VoiceController answers 24/7, recognises returning customers with their vehicle history, writes confirmed appointments directly into the shop calendar and follows up by text. Works with (as listed on its site): Tekmetric, Shopmonkey, Mitchell 1, ShopKey, Google Calendar, Outlook. The shop calendar write-back and text follow-up need the Advanced plan, which carries the third-party integrations: Advanced $199/mo monthly or $179/mo yearly (300 calls, third-party integrations, multilingual). Starter is Starter $129/mo billed monthly or $119/mo billed yearly (100 processed calls, usage-based after). Plans as published: Starter $129/mo billed monthly or $119/mo billed yearly (100 processed calls, usage-based after); Advanced $199/mo monthly or $179/mo yearly (300 calls, third-party integrations, multilingual); Enterprise custom. All plans require a $100 setup fee. Its free trial still needs the setup fee, so it is not free: Trial with conditions (not free).
Built into AutoLeap: AutoLeap AIR. AIR collects names, numbers and vehicle details and places appointment requests on the AutoLeap calendar during the call; the vendor says it works with any shop software, with the calendar link for AutoLeap users. Pricing as published: Pay as you go $1/call; Starter $99/mo (200 calls, $0.75/call overage); Growth $199/mo (500 calls, $0.75/call overage). $100 setup fee may apply. Prices in USD (CAD also offered). Its free offer is limited-time and a setup fee may apply: Trial with conditions (not free).
Also consider:
- New Odyssey Voice: auto repair shops and dealerships; vehicle and service intake and service booking. Works with (as listed): Tekmetric, QuickBooks Online, Mitchell, Shop-Ware. Price: $599/mo, plus $299 setup.
- VMOTEK AI Shop Assistant: books against technician and bay availability, prepares estimates from labor guides and follows up on approvals. Pricing as published: $99/mo to add the AI Shop Assistant to your current shop software (200 AI-handled calls on the plan card, 260 in the pricing FAQ; 1,000 SMS); $199/mo with the full VMOTEK shop software (400 calls, 1,000 SMS); additional shops $99/mo. Extra calls $0.60 each; 1,000 extra SMS $15.
- Autivo AI Receptionist: inside Autivo's branded app and CRM; checks drop-off availability and books appointments that sync to Tekmetric or Shopmonkey. Pricing as published: Included on Growth $399/mo (100 AI receptionist min/mo) and Pro $699/mo (400 min/mo); Founder's Club $299/mo locked Pro rate (limited spots; 400 min on the plan card, 200 in the AI receptionist FAQ). Overage $0.25/min. Core plan $199/mo does not include it.
- Gia by GaragePlug: an AI service advisor that answers when the team is busy or closed, handles service-status and tire and service pricing calls and warm-transfers with the call reason. Price: Not published.
- Mxpert: quick lube, tire and repair shops; price checks, tire availability and booking at every location. Works with (as listed): Protractor, TireConnect. Price: Not published.
Best if you run Tekmetric, Shopmonkey, Shop-Ware, Mitchell 1 or AutoLeap
Which shop software each auto-repair-tagged vendor lists, from our data:
| Shop software | Auto repair vendors that list it |
|---|---|
| AutoLeap (native calendar) | AutoLeap AIR |
| Tekmetric | Autivo AI Receptionist, New Odyssey Voice, Phantom Desk AI, VoiceController |
| Shopmonkey | Autivo AI Receptionist, VoiceController |
| Shop-Ware | New Odyssey Voice, Phantom Desk AI |
| Mitchell 1 | Phantom Desk AI, VoiceController |
| Mitchell | New Odyssey Voice |
| ShopKey | VoiceController |
| Protractor | Mxpert |
| TireConnect | Mxpert |
- AutoLeap (native calendar)
- Auto repair vendors that list it: AutoLeap AIR
- Tekmetric
- Auto repair vendors that list it: Autivo AI Receptionist, New Odyssey Voice, Phantom Desk AI, VoiceController
- Shopmonkey
- Auto repair vendors that list it: Autivo AI Receptionist, VoiceController
- Shop-Ware
- Auto repair vendors that list it: New Odyssey Voice, Phantom Desk AI
- Mitchell 1
- Auto repair vendors that list it: Phantom Desk AI, VoiceController
- Mitchell
- Auto repair vendors that list it: New Odyssey Voice
- ShopKey
- Auto repair vendors that list it: VoiceController
- Protractor
- Auto repair vendors that list it: Mxpert
- TireConnect
- Auto repair vendors that list it: Mxpert
Product names use each brand's own spelling (Shop-Ware, Mitchell 1). New Odyssey Voice lists "Mitchell" without a product name, so it has its own row. Phantom Desk AI lists Shop-Ware, Mitchell 1 and Tekmetric for auto shop texts (price: Not published). Ask any vendor for a live test appointment into your own shop account, with the right advisor and bay.
Dealerships. Service departments on a dealer management system have different tools:
| Dealership system | Auto repair vendors that list it |
|---|---|
| CDK | Visive AutoCall AI |
| CDK Drive | Workforce Wave |
| Xtime | Visive AutoCall AI, Workforce Wave |
| Reynolds & Reynolds ERA-IGNITE | Workforce Wave |
| Tekion | Workforce Wave |
- CDK
- Auto repair vendors that list it: Visive AutoCall AI
- CDK Drive
- Auto repair vendors that list it: Workforce Wave
- Xtime
- Auto repair vendors that list it: Visive AutoCall AI, Workforce Wave
- Reynolds & Reynolds ERA-IGNITE
- Auto repair vendors that list it: Workforce Wave
- Tekion
- Auto repair vendors that list it: Workforce Wave
Workforce Wave decodes VINs, checks OEM recalls and books service appointments with DMS read and write; its record notes it is dealership-focused rather than built for independent shops. Visive AutoCall AI books against DMS bay and advisor capacity for dealerships and tire and lube chains (Not published). Numa is an AI operating system for dealership service departments (Not published).
Best published low entry price for a single bay shop
Among auto-repair-tagged vendors in our pricing snapshot, the lowest published paid entry is OnCallClerk's Starter $29/mo (1 voice agent, 1 phone number, up to 180 min). Overage calls are billed at a per-minute rate (rate not published). The lowest entries on this list come from general service-business receptionists, so check that the plan's call, minute or credit allowance covers a busy shop day before you compare it with the auto-first products.
Other low entry points as published: RevSystems From $49/mo (plan tiers not published on site), CrewDesk Starter $49/mo, ModPhone Starter $49/mo (200 min, 200 texts) (Overage from $0.10-$0.15/min) and Rinqly AI Receptionist Basic $49/mo (140 min, then $0.35). RevSystems lists caller screening for vehicle, service need and timing on its auto setup; Rinqly's product is horizontal with an auto repair landing page. AutoLeap AIR has no monthly fee on pay as you go: Pay as you go $1/call ($100 setup fee may apply).
Per-call and per-minute charges add up on a busy Monday. AutoLeap AIR and VMOTEK bill extra calls, VoiceController bills usage after its included calls, and ModPhone, Rinqly and Autivo bill minutes over the plan, all as shown in the prices above. Ringroo prices in Australian dollars only, Starter A$19.95/mo (10 calls, then A$1.50/call), so it is not in the US-dollar comparison. Compare models in the cost guide.
Free trial without a card
Auto-repair-tagged vendors whose record holds a free trial or free plan with no card required: CrewDesk (14 days), dolfyn (14 days), ModPhone (30-day free trial with a real US number, 100 voice minutes and 100 texts), OnCallClerk (14 days), QuickVOC (3-day free trial with 25 minutes), Ringing.io (25 free call minutes to start), Ringroo (14 days; free trial covers up to 7 calls then asks callers to text), Rinqly (free trial on every plan) and Workforce Wave (free plan: first agent with 100 minutes).
Not free: VoiceController's trial needs a setup fee, AutoLeap AIR's free month is a limited-time offer with a possible setup fee, and ScepterIQ's Test Drive is paid. More options: AI receptionists with a free trial.
What to ask before you buy
- Year, make, model and VIN. Ask which vehicle fields it captures, and whether it decodes the VIN or just writes it down.
- Appointment or request? A confirmed slot in the shop calendar is different from a request your advisor still has to book.
- Advisor transfers. Ask how breakdowns, tows, comebacks and angry customers reach a person, with the call reason.
- Parts counter vs service lane. Ask whether parts and tire availability questions get a different script from repair bookings.
- More than one shop. Ask how locations, hours and advisors are split.
- Dealer system or independent shop software? A DMS integration and a Tekmetric integration are different products. Ask which one you are buying.
AI answering vs human CSR for auto shops
A human service writer knows the cars, the customers and the comebacks. An AI answering service answers every call, including after hours and while the writer is with a customer, captures the vehicle and the job, and books or requests the slot. Most shops that buy AI keep the counter staffed and send overflow, after-hours and routine calls to the AI. Read AI answering service vs AI receptionist and AI receptionist vs human receptionist for the trade-offs.
When to use the full list
This page is a shortlist. For every auto-repair-tagged vendor with pricing, trials and sources, use the AI receptionist for auto repair page. Also running trades jobs? See home services and the best HVAC answering service.
FAQ
What is the best answering service for auto repair shops?
It depends on the job. For appointments written into Tekmetric, Shopmonkey or Mitchell 1, VoiceController on its Advanced plan, Advanced $199/mo monthly or $179/mo yearly (300 calls, third-party integrations, multilingual). All plans require a $100 setup fee at VoiceController. On AutoLeap, or paying per call, AutoLeap AIR (Pay as you go $1/call; $100 setup fee may apply). For dealership service lanes with VIN and recall lookups, Workforce Wave. For a low entry price with a no-card trial, ModPhone (Starter $49/mo (200 min, 200 texts); Overage from $0.10-$0.15/min).
Can an AI receptionist book into Tekmetric or Shopmonkey?
Some vendors say they can. Among auto-repair-tagged vendors in our data, 4 list Tekmetric and 2 list Shopmonkey. VoiceController says it writes confirmed appointments into Tekmetric, Shopmonkey or Mitchell 1 on its Advanced plan, and Autivo says its bookings sync to Tekmetric or Shopmonkey. Ask for a live test appointment into your own shop account.
Which AI tools capture VIN and vehicle details on the call?
Workforce Wave's automotive version decodes VINs and checks recall status. VoiceController recognises returning customers with their vehicle history (with shop-software integrations on its Advanced plan), New Odyssey Voice and AutoLeap AIR capture vehicle and service details, and RevSystems screens for vehicle, service need and timing. Ask which fields land in your shop software.
How much does an AI answering service for an auto shop cost per month?
The lowest published paid entry among auto-repair-tagged vendors is OnCallClerk's Starter $29/mo (1 voice agent, 1 phone number, up to 180 min). Overage calls are billed at a per-minute rate (rate not published). Auto-first products publish more. VoiceController: Starter $129/mo billed monthly or $119/mo billed yearly (100 processed calls, usage-based after), with shop-software integrations from Advanced $199/mo monthly or $179/mo yearly (300 calls, third-party integrations, multilingual). All plans require a $100 setup fee at VoiceController. Also VMOTEK, a $99/mo add-on (200 AI-handled calls on the plan card, 260 in the pricing FAQ; 1,000 SMS); its overage terms: Extra calls $0.60 each; 1,000 extra SMS $15. New Odyssey Voice publishes $599/mo, plus $299 setup. Mxpert, Gia by GaragePlug, Visive AutoCall AI and Numa do not publish a price. See AI receptionist cost.
Is there an auto repair AI receptionist with a free trial and no credit card?
Yes. Auto-repair-tagged vendors with a no-card free trial or free plan in our data: CrewDesk (14 days), dolfyn (14 days), ModPhone (30-day free trial with a real US number, 100 voice minutes and 100 texts), OnCallClerk (14 days), QuickVOC (3-day free trial with 25 minutes), Ringing.io (25 free call minutes to start), Ringroo (14 days; free trial covers up to 7 calls then asks callers to text), Rinqly (free trial on every plan) and Workforce Wave (free plan: first agent with 100 minutes). VoiceController, AutoLeap AIR and ScepterIQ offers come with a fee or a paid step, so they are not free.
Will the AI transfer urgent breakdown calls to an advisor?
The auto-first tools say so: Gia by GaragePlug warm-transfers with the call reason, ModPhone warm-transfers to service writers, AutoLeap AIR routes callers to staff and Autivo transfers to staff. Ask each vendor what callers hear when no advisor is free.
Related
- AI receptionist for auto repair: all 30 vendors A to Z, and home services
- Best HVAC answering service and the AgentZap vs Marlie comparison
- Best AI receptionist, AI receptionist cost and free trials
Sources and method: vendor facts, prices, trials and integrations render from AI Front Desk List data (245 vendors, 30 tagged auto repair) and normalized pricing, checked 16 Oct 2026. Picks are editorial; directory order is A to Z and never sold. Found an error? Tell us. Vendors can buy clearly labelled placements on Advertise; they never change picks or order.