Skip to content
AI Front Desk List
Saved

Buyer guide

Best AI receptionist for small business (2027)

This shortlist is for an owner running a business of 1 to 20 staff who wants calls answered without a long sales process. It covers all 112 vendors tagged for small businesses in our directory and ranks them on what an owner can check before buying: the published monthly price, a free trial without a card, no contract, and setup you can do yourself. Each quick pick is chosen by a fixed rule applied to our records, never by opinion, and there is no overall winner. Prices, trials and terms come from the catalog at build time. Picks are never paid, and sponsorship does not change them.

How we picked

Every rule below runs on the vendor records in our directory. Vendors marked outbound only and vendors that have not launched are not picks. Contract, setup fee, setup and phone number claims count only where the vendor's own pricing, features, description or trial note say so; a missing claim reads "Not stated", which is not the same as "not offered". Prices count only where the record itself prints a US-dollar monthly start.

  • Lowest monthly price. Lowest published US-dollar monthly start among all eligible small business vendors; ties go A to Z.
  • Longest free trial without a card. A free trial or free plan with no card required. Longest stated trial wins; ties go to the lower published US-dollar monthly start, then A to Z.
  • No contract and no setup fee. The record's pricing, features or trial note says there is no contract (or month to month, cancel anytime or no lock-in) and no setup fee, and it publishes a US-dollar monthly start. Lowest start wins; ties go A to Z.
  • Set it up yourself and keep your number. A feature (or, when no feature says so, the description) claims self-serve setup (self-serve, setup in minutes, live in minutes or the same day), and one says you keep your existing number or it works with any phone system. Lowest published US-dollar monthly start wins, then A to Z.
  • Unlimited calls on every plan. The pricing or a feature says calls, minutes or answering are unlimited on every plan, and the record publishes a US-dollar monthly start. Lowest start wins; ties go A to Z.
  • Built for solo owners and small teams. Practice size names solo owners, sole traders, owner-operators or owner-run businesses and does not reach multi-location, multi-site, multi-store, multi-property, franchise, enterprise, chain, group, agency, call centre or DSO customers, and the record publishes a US-dollar monthly start. Lowest start wins; ties go A to Z.

These are vendor claims, not call-quality ratings. Read our methodology.

Quick picks for small businesses (rule-based, not paid)

Lowest monthly price
Pick: Automaticall
Why (from our data): Lowest published US-dollar start in the small business tag ($9.99/mo).
Starting price as published: Personal Assistant $9.99/mo (50 minutes per month)
Trial: Free trial, 1 day, no card required
Longest free trial without a card
Pick: Balaay
Why (from our data): 30-day free trial, no card, month to month. Start after the trial: $29/mo.
Starting price as published: Starter $29/mo (250 voice min then $0.15/min); Optional Concierge Setup $199 once
Trial: Free trial, 30 days, no card required
No contract and no setup fee
Pick: OnCallClerk
Why (from our data): Terms in the record: "No setup fees, no contracts". Start: $29/mo.
Starting price as published: Starter $29/mo (1 voice agent, 1 phone number, up to 180 min)
Trial: Free trial, 14 days, no card required
Set it up yourself and keep your number
Pick: AptaBook
Why (from our data): Setup in the record: "Most businesses live in under 10 minutes (phone goes live after number setup)"; "Keeps your existing number: forward your phone line to your AptaBook number". Start: $49/mo.
Starting price as published: Solo $49/mo (50 conversations)
Trial: Free trial, 15 days, no card required
Unlimited calls on every plan
Pick: Jodie (Hey Jodie)
Why (from our data): In the record: "US pricing page advertises unlimited minutes on every plan". Start: $49/mo.
Starting price as published: US Basic $49/mo
Trial: Free trial, 7 days, no card required
Built for solo owners and small teams
Pick: KaiCalls
Why (from our data): Practice size: Solo operators to multi-line offices. Start: $10/mo.
Starting price as published: Kai Backup $10/mo (~20 answered calls/mo fair-use allowance, no per-minute overage)
Trial: Trial with conditions (not free)

Every small business vendor, by published price

All 112 vendors tagged for small businesses, ordered by published US-dollar monthly start, low to high, then every record without one A to Z. Prices are as published. A record with no price reads "Quote only" or "Not published". Setup or training fees and per-minute usage charges in the record sit next to the start. A price in another currency names its currency, and a US-dollar price that is not a single comparable monthly start (a free plan, per-user or usage-based pricing, or calls billed at a rate the vendor does not publish) says why; both are left out of the US-dollar figures below. The contract and setup columns quote the vendor's own words; where the record does not say, they read "Not stated", which is not the same as "not offered". The same vendors, with filters and sources, are on the full small business AI receptionist list.

Automaticall
Starting price: Personal Assistant $9.99/mo (50 minutes per month)
Trial: Free trial, 1 day, no card required
Contract and setup fee: Cancel anytime
Setup and your number: Not stated
fone.me
Starting price: Premium $9.99/month or $99.99/year (adds your own fone.me number, call minutes and more links), billed through the App Store and renewing until cancelled in your Apple Account settings
Trial: Free plan; your own number and call minutes need Premium
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
KaiCalls
Starting price: Kai Backup $10/mo (~20 answered calls/mo fair-use allowance, no per-minute overage)
Trial: Trial with conditions (not free)
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
RingOwl
Starting price: Lite $10/mo (50 min)
Trial: 7-day free trial with 30 minutes included (one-time trial budget); no card required
Contract and setup fee: Cancel anytime
Setup and your number: Not stated
AI-Receptionist.com
Starting price: Essential $14/mo (75 voice min); Extra minutes $0.25 each, never expire
Trial: Free 7 days; trial includes plan features with a 30-minute trial minute cap per FAQ; no card required
Contract and setup fee: No setup fees
Setup and your number: Self-serve AI receptionist with plans from $14/mo, 55+ languages, spam filtering, Google Calendar booking, and boss-mode style owner controls
Voksha
Starting price: Starter $14/mo (15 calls, then $1/call)
Trial: No free trial; free demo call and 7-day money-back guarantee
Contract and setup fee: Cancel anytime
Setup and your number: Answers in under 200 ms on existing number
Aira
Starting price: Starter $24.95/mo (30 calls, $1.50/extra)
Trial: Not stated
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Upfirst
Starting price: Starter $24.95/mo (30 calls, $1.50/extra)
Trial: Free trial, 14 days
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
AskSiya
Starting price: Starter $29/mo (150 min, past a 10% buffer of 165 min it upgrades automatically to Growth $99/mo for the rest of the period)
Trial: 7-day free trial with 30 minutes of live calls included; no card required
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Balaay
Starting price: Starter $29/mo (250 voice min then $0.15/min); Optional Concierge Setup $199 once
Trial: Free trial, 30 days, no card required
Contract and setup fee: Month to month, cancel anytime; 30-day free trial, no card, month to month
Setup and your number: Not stated
Beside
Starting price: Web Phone plans (USD, billed monthly per business): Baseline $29/mo (30 AI Receptionist calls)
Trial: Free trial, 7 days, card required; Unlimited plan: 7-day trial with payment method required. Baseline has no trial
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Dialzara
Starting price: Business Lite $29/mo (60 min, $0.48/min over)
Trial: Free trial, 7 days
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Fast Response AI
Starting price: Starter $29/mo (250 voice min, 30 AI min, 250 texts)
Trial: Free Start; no card required
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
OnCallClerk
Starting price: Starter $29/mo (1 voice agent, 1 phone number, up to 180 min)
Trial: Free trial, 14 days, no card required
Contract and setup fee: No setup fees, no contracts
Setup and your number: Not stated
Reception.ai
Starting price: Basic $29/mo (75 phone min, $0.45/min overage); Prices plus tax
Trial: 14-day free trial with full access, 30 phone minutes and 1 phone number; no card required
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Website scan setup in minutes
Wenly
Starting price: Solo $29/mo (150 min); Managed $249/mo (1,200 min, setup call, every lead reviewed by a person, Spanish)
Trial: Free 7 days; Seven-day trial, activated by the Wenly team once your line is ready (100 minutes); no card required
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Zoom Virtual Agent Receptionist
Starting price: Standalone from $29.99/mo for 100 minutes, or $24.99/mo for 100 minutes billed annually; with Zoom Phone from $0.25/min billed annually plus the cost of Zoom Phone
Trial: Trial with conditions (not free)
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Works with existing phone systems (standalone)
RingDesk
Starting price: Starter $35/mo (100 AI min, then $0.25/min, 1 phone, 1 seat)
Trial: Free trial, 7 days, no card required
Contract and setup fee: Month-to-month
Setup and your number: Not stated
ScepterIQ
Starting price: Starter $39/mo (500 credits); Test Drive $7 one-time (300 credits)
Trial: Trial with conditions (not free)
Contract and setup fee: Cancel anytime
Setup and your number: Not stated
AptaBook
Starting price: Solo $49/mo (50 conversations)
Trial: Free trial, 15 days, no card required
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Most businesses live in under 10 minutes (phone goes live after number setup); Keeps your existing number: forward your phone line to your AptaBook number
DialIQ
Starting price: Essential $49/mo (50 calls, then $1.50/call)
Trial: Free trial, 7 days
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
GreetKeeper
Starting price: Starter $49/mo (200 answered calls, $0.45/call after)
Trial: Free trial, 14 days, no card required
Contract and setup fee: No setup fee
Setup and your number: Not stated
Jodie (Hey Jodie)
Starting price: US Basic $49/mo
Trial: Free trial, 7 days, no card required
Contract and setup fee: Month to month, no setup fees
Setup and your number: Not stated
Kyros
Starting price: Essential $49/mo (100 AI minutes; extra 100-minute pack $40)
Trial: Free trial and no setup fee: up to 14 days or 50 AI minutes, whichever comes first, on an assigned trial number; no card required
Contract and setup fee: No setup fee; Free trial with no card and no setup fee: up to 14 days or 50 AI minutes, whichever comes first, on an assigned trial number
Setup and your number: Not stated
Marlie
Starting price: Basic $49/mo (250 min, then $0.35/min)
Trial: Free trial, 14 days, card required
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
ModPhone
Starting price: Starter $49/mo (200 min, 200 texts); Overage: Starter $0.15/min and $0.05/text; Growth $0.12/min and $0.04/text; Business $0.10/min and $0.03/text; Live interpreter beyond included minutes $0.50/min
Trial: 30-day free trial with a real US number, 100 voice minutes and 100 texts; no card required
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
NextLevel.AI
Starting price: Inbound Phone (+ web): Starter from $49/mo (1 line, 300 voice min, 1 language; 50% off the first 3 months)
Trial: Free trial, 14 days
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Operator
Starting price: Starter $49/mo (5,000 credits, about 200 answered min)
Trial: Free trial, 14 days, no card required
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
PhoneMachine.ai
Starting price: Starter $49/mo (75 answered calls, 100 SMS, 2 users)
Trial: Not stated
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
RingCentral AI Receptionist
Starting price: Standalone $49/mo with 100 minutes; $0.50 per extra minute, billed in 30-second increments
Trial: Free trial, 14 days
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Works with any phone system
Rinqly
Starting price: AI Receptionist Basic $49/mo (140 min, then $0.35)
Trial: Free trial on every plan; no card required
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Rosie
Starting price: Professional $49/mo (250 min)
Trial: Free trial, 7 days, no card required
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Synvola
Starting price: Starter $49/mo (60 calls, then $0.75/call)
Trial: Free trial, 14 days, no card required
Contract and setup fee: cancel anytime; No setup fees
Setup and your number: Not stated
Trillet
Starting price: AI Receptionist $49/mo (150 min, then $0.20/min)
Trial: Not offered
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: AI receptionist with 5-minute setup
Twig (Sera)
Starting price: Starter $49/mo (500 chats, voice included); Voice overage $1/min
Trial: Free trial, 15 days, no card required
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Verlingo
Starting price: Starter $50/mo ($50 of usage, about 200 voice minutes or 2,500 chat replies); Usage $0.25 per voice minute and $0.02 per AI chat reply, the same on every plan, and usage beyond the included amount bills at the same rate
Trial: 14-day free trial with $20 of usage; no card required
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
IsOn24
Starting price: Starter $59/mo (1,000 minutes and 1,000 texts, 1 user)
Trial: Free trial, 7 days, no card required
Contract and setup fee: No setup fee
Setup and your number: Not stated
RingReady
Starting price: Professional $59/mo flat unlimited calls (no per-minute)
Trial: Free trial, 4 days, no card required
Contract and setup fee: Month to month, no setup fees; cancel anytime
Setup and your number: Not stated
Tilk AI
Starting price: Basic $59/mo, Standard $129/mo, Teams $299/mo, priced by calls with no overage
Trial: Free trial, 7 days, no card required
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Skaala
Starting price: Essential $60/mo US excl. VAT (50 min, then $0.20/min)
Trial: Trial with conditions (not free)
Contract and setup fee: Online plans run month to month
Setup and your number: Not stated
Moneypenny AI Answering
Starting price: AI Answering (US): 25 calls $69/mo (extra calls $2.49)
Trial: Not stated
Contract and setup fee: No contract
Setup and your number: Not stated
Phone Stack
Starting price: Starter $69/mo (300 min, $0.25/extra min)
Trial: Free trial, 14 days, no card required
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Goodcall
Starting price: Starter $79/mo (100 unique customers, then $0.79 each)
Trial: No free trial; free demo agent until you connect a number
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Local number included or forward existing number
PhoneAgent.ai
Starting price: Monthly: Starter $89/mo (~150 calls), Professional $199/mo (~500 calls, 2 numbers), Practice $399/mo (~1,500 calls, 5 locations), Enterprise $798/mo (~3,000 calls)
Trial: Not offered
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Simple Phones
Starting price: From $97/mo for 100 calls
Trial: Free trial, 14 days
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
CallBird AI
Starting price: Starter $99/mo (up to 50 calls)
Trial: Free trial, 7 days, no card required
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
CallMelo
Starting price: Starter $99/mo (1,000 min)
Trial: Free trial, 14 days, card required; 14-day free trial with up to 100 minutes
Contract and setup fee: Cancel anytime after trial
Setup and your number: Keep your current number; goes live in about 10 minutes
Dapta
Starting price: Pro $99/mo (100k credits)
Trial: Not stated
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Frontdesk (My AI Front Desk)
Starting price: Business-in-a-Box $99/mo or $79/mo billed annually (200 voice minutes; extra minutes about $0.25 from credit pool)
Trial: Free trial, 7 days, no card required
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Frontivo.io
Starting price: Phone Lite $99/mo (120 voice min, about 40 calls; 60 automated texts; 1 user; live transfer to 1 person; same features as Phone Only; not part of Founding 50); Overage $0.35/voice min, $0.25/conversation, $0.10/AI text, $0.05/automated text
Trial: Trial with conditions (not free)
Contract and setup fee: month to month; No setup fee
Setup and your number: Keep your existing number
Mikla.ai
Starting price: Core from $99/mo (10,000 credits a month; voice agent, SMS, marketplaces and Meta lead forms), up to $199/mo for 20,000 credits; White-glove onboarding is a $499 one-time add-on on Core and Pro. 30-day performance guarantee on paid plans
Trial: Not stated
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Nevermiss
Starting price: Single plan $99/mo with 250 minutes and every available Ava feature included
Trial: Trial with conditions (not free)
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Keep your existing number
Open Lines
Starting price: Starter $99/mo (150 min, then $0.69/min)
Trial: Not stated
Contract and setup fee: month-to-month; No setup fees
Setup and your number: Not stated
Ringing.io
Starting price: Starter $99/mo (250 min); Growth $299/mo (1,500 min, custom training, text links); $0 setup; Overage $0.30/min
Trial: 25 free call minutes to start; no card required
Contract and setup fee: Month to month; Overage $0.30/min. $0 setup; No setup fee
Setup and your number: Not stated
TopPin Voice
Starting price: Starter $99/mo; Scale $549/mo (multi-location / multi-line, escalation rules, white-glove onboarding)
Trial: Free trial, 7 days
Contract and setup fee: Cancel anytime
Setup and your number: Not stated
AgentZap
Starting price: Starter $109/mo (150 min, $0.85/min overage); $499 one-time training and setup fee (waived on a 6-month Professional term)
Trial: Not offered
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
RingDispatch
Starting price: Starter $107/mo billed annually or $129/mo monthly (250 minutes)
Trial: Not stated
Contract and setup fee: Cancel anytime
Setup and your number: Not stated
Telyn
Starting price: Starter $147/mo list, offered at $97/mo launch price locked for life (200 min, then $0.25/min); $0 setup fee
Trial: Trial with conditions (not free)
Contract and setup fee: Enterprise: $1,200/mo (2,500 to 5,000 min), $1,900/mo (5,001 to 10,000), $3,200/mo (10,001 to 20,000), custom above, $0.18/min overage. $0 setup fee
Setup and your number: Not stated
AIEmply
Starting price: AI Voice Employee: Starter $149/mo (100 min, then $0.30/min)
Trial: Not stated
Contract and setup fee: No setup fees
Setup and your number: Not stated
Fusion Calling
Starting price: Starter $149/mo (500 minutes, no setup fee); Pro $249/mo (1,050 minutes, $799 setup); Enterprise $497/mo (2,100 minutes, $1,250 setup); Overage $0.30 / $0.25 / $0.20 per minute
Trial: Not stated
Contract and setup fee: Month to month; Starter $149/mo (500 minutes, no setup fee)
Setup and your number: Not stated
QuickVOC
Starting price: Starter $149/mo (300 AI min, 1 business number, 3 team members, then $0.25/min)
Trial: 3-day free trial with 25 minutes; no card required
Contract and setup fee: No contract on any plan
Setup and your number: Not stated
Helohi
Starting price: Call Agent $159/mo (500 phone min, US/Canada/UK number)
Trial: Not offered
Contract and setup fee: No setup fees, no contracts
Setup and your number: Not stated
Abby Connect
Starting price: Starter $165/mo (50 Abby Minutes)
Trial: Free trial
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Robylon
Starting price: voice phone calls from Business at $180/month (4,500 credits) to $300/month (10,000 credits)
Trial: Trial with conditions (not free)
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Lippy AI
Starting price: Solo $185/mo billed monthly or $154/mo billed annually (420 min, inbound only, 1 agent)
Trial: Not stated
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
CatchyVoice
Starting price: Starter $199/mo list (AI voice receptionist, unlimited inbound calls, 1 phone number, SMS notifications and email summaries, without appointment scheduling or calendar integration)
Trial: Not stated
Contract and setup fee: Unlimited inbound calls on every plan, no per-call or per-minute charges, no contract
Setup and your number: Not stated
MairyAI
Starting price: Starter $199/mo (500 min, then $0.45/min, 2 calls at a time)
Trial: Free 14 days; 50 minutes included, one call at a time, on a trial business number; no card required
Contract and setup fee: Month to month (Enterprise excepted), no setup fee
Setup and your number: Not stated
NextPhone
Starting price: Pro $199/mo
Trial: Free trial, 7 days, card required
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Amfion
Starting price: Front Desk $249/mo (200 answered-call min then $0.49/min, phone number included)
Trial: Trial with conditions (not free)
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Voxgard
Starting price: Basic $249/mo (300 min then $0.55/min)
Trial: Free 5-day pilot on real calls; no card required
Contract and setup fee: Month to month
Setup and your number: Not stated
Zovio
Starting price: Starter $249/mo (50 calls)
Trial: 14-day free trial with 10 calls and a dedicated US number; no card required
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
BuzzWisely
Starting price: Nectar $289/mo (775 minutes)
Trial: Trial with conditions (not free)
Contract and setup fee: No setup fee
Setup and your number: Not stated
Ansa
Starting price: Self-serve $297/mo unlimited calls
Trial: Not offered
Contract and setup fee: Cancel anytime
Setup and your number: Not stated
SentraVoice
Starting price: Inbound: Starter $299/mo (100 min, 1 line)
Trial: Not stated
Contract and setup fee: No setup fees
Setup and your number: Not stated
Agentfabriek
Starting price: Starter €249/mo + one-time setup €2,499; Prices excl. VAT; AI usage €0.12/min billed 1-to-1 at cost (page also mentions €0.10-€0.12/min) (priced in EUR; not included in USD figures)
Trial: Not offered
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Alayic
Starting price: From GBP 89.99/mo (about $119 USD per vendor FAQ) with inclusive minutes (Professional cites 450 free minutes) (priced in GBP; not included in USD figures)
Trial: Trial with conditions (not free)
Contract and setup fee: No setup fees, pay monthly, cancel anytime
Setup and your number: Not stated
Allo AI Receptionist
Starting price: AI Receptionist add-on $32/mo per agent billed yearly, on top of a seat plan: Solo $10/seat/mo yearly ($15 monthly), Business $32/seat/mo yearly ($45 monthly), Ultra $100/seat/mo yearly ($120 monthly). No setup fees or contracts (no comparable monthly start in our data; not included in USD figures)
Trial: Trial with conditions (not free)
Contract and setup fee: No setup fees or contracts
Setup and your number: Not stated
Asisto
Starting price: Pay Per Appointment: Free base + $7.99 per appointment (1 shared number, unlimited minutes); Unlimited $279/mo; Enterprise custom. Every published plan includes unlimited minutes, texts and locations. No setup fee. Prices in USD (usage-based pricing; not included in USD monthly figures)
Trial: Not offered
Contract and setup fee: No setup fee
Setup and your number: Not stated
Auto-Respond
Starting price: $10/mo per dedicated number plus $1 per minute of talk time; no setup fee, no contract (usage-based pricing; not included in USD monthly figures)
Trial: Free trial, 7 days
Contract and setup fee: no setup fee, no contract
Setup and your number: Not stated
AwakeDesk
Starting price: Founding offer (first ten businesses): $149/mo flat with unlimited minutes, no per-call fees or overage, plus a one-time $499 white-glove setup; locked for as long as you stay. Annual $1,490/yr with setup waived. No contract (no comparable monthly start in our data; not included in USD figures)
Trial: Not stated
Contract and setup fee: No contract; Annual $1,490/yr with setup waived
Setup and your number: Not stated
Bridge Voice
Starting price: Starter £30/mo (250 minutes, voice calls only, no SMS) (priced in GBP; not included in USD figures)
Trial: Not stated
Contract and setup fee: no long-term contract
Setup and your number: Not stated
CallEez
Starting price: Beginner £19/mo (50 minutes, 20 texts, 1 AI receptionist); All prices in GBP, excluding VAT; Extra minutes 28p a minute (priced in GBP; not included in USD figures)
Trial: Free trial, 7 days, card required; Free 3-minute browser demo call with no signup
Contract and setup fee: Month-to-month, no contract, no setup fee
Setup and your number: Not stated
Callrix
Starting price: Other industries: Try Me A$49/mo (75 min), Starter A$249/mo (500 min), Scale A$599/mo (1,335 min) (priced in AUD; not included in USD figures)
Trial: 7-day free trial with 10 minutes (about 3 calls); no card required
Contract and setup fee: No setup fees; cancel anytime; No setup fees
Setup and your number: Not stated
CloudTalk AI Receptionist
Starting price: AI Receptionist add-on from $99/mo (200 min; USD per the English page copy) (priced in USD and EUR; not included in USD figures)
Trial: Free 14-day trial with 50 AI minutes; no card required
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
DeskCaller
Starting price: Starter GBP 48/mo (120 min, about 40 calls) (priced in GBP; not included in USD figures)
Trial: Not stated
Contract and setup fee: No setup fee, no contract
Setup and your number: Self-serve onboarding, can be live the same day
DialPhone AI Receptionist
Starting price: AI Receptionist included from Professional: $17.99/user/mo billed annually ($24.99 monthly) with 250 AI receptionist min, plus transcription and call recording; minimum 3 users. AI Receptionist top-up packs from $12 / 100 min. Lower tier without AI: Basic $9.99/user/mo billed annually. Enterprise custom (priced per user; not included in USD monthly figures)
Trial: Free 14 days; 250 outbound minutes and 25 SMS on trial; no card required
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Estera
Starting price: Voice plans: Lite EUR 49/mo (150 min) (priced in EUR; not included in USD figures)
Trial: Trial with conditions (not free)
Contract and setup fee: Cancel anytime
Setup and your number: Not stated
FloGPT
Starting price: Starter $49/mo (2,000 messages); Calls and SMS are metered on top of the plan: AI voice per minute at a carrier-dependent rate quoted on request, SMS $0.01/segment; Optional done-for-you setup $500 once for voice agents ($200 for chat) (calls billed on top at a rate quoted on request; not included in USD figures)
Trial: Trial with conditions (not free)
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Hailey
Starting price: Not published
Trial: Not stated
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
HeyDiga
Starting price: Diga Lite €49/mo (200 min) (priced in EUR; not included in USD figures)
Trial: Free trial
Contract and setup fee: No lock-in
Setup and your number: Not stated
IONOS AI Receptionist
Starting price: £39/mo excl. VAT (30 calls included, then £0.49/call, 1 forwarding) (priced in GBP; not included in USD figures)
Trial: Free trial, 30 days
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Jobber Receptionist
Starting price: Receptionist add-on $29/mo on Jobber Core, Connect and Grow, included on Plus; Requires a Jobber plan: Core $49/mo with no commitment ($39/mo with a 1-year commitment or $29/mo billed annually, 1 user); Connect from $139/mo ($99/mo billed annually); Grow from $199/mo ($149/mo billed annually); Plus from $499/mo ($399/mo billed annually). Included calls or minutes for Receptionist are not published (no comparable monthly start in our data; not included in USD figures)
Trial: Trial with conditions (not free)
Contract and setup fee: Requires a Jobber plan: Core $49/mo with no commitment ($39/mo with a 1-year commitment or $29/mo billed annually, 1 user)
Setup and your number: Not stated
Johnni AI
Starting price: Pay As You Go A$49/mo monthly or A$44/mo paid annually (60 min, then A$0.50/min); Prices in AUD, ex GST (priced in AUD; not included in USD figures)
Trial: Trial with conditions (not free)
Contract and setup fee: No setup fee, month to month; 7-day free trial with 30 free setup minutes
Setup and your number: Not stated
JustCall AI Voice Agent
Starting price: AI Voice Agent add-on from $0.99/min (hotels page), with volume discounts down to $0.15/min on the pricing page; used with a paid JustCall phone plan (per-user pricing on justcall.io/pricing) (usage-based pricing; not included in USD monthly figures)
Trial: Free trial, 14 days; first 100 AI Voice Agent minutes free
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
LumiTalk
Starting price: Quote only
Trial: Free trial, 14 days
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Lyngo AI
Starting price: Starter A$139/mo + GST (45 calls, then A$3/call, 20 SMS then A$0.10 each) (priced in AUD; not included in USD figures)
Trial: Free trial, 14 days
Contract and setup fee: Free setup, no lock-in contracts; Free setup, no lock-in; no lock-in contracts; free setup
Setup and your number: Not stated
MapleVoice
Starting price: Essential $199/mo + $0.59/min (1 inbound agent); Professional $299/mo + $0.49/min (3 agents, CRM integration, booking); Premium $399/mo + $0.39/min (10 agents, warm transfer, SLA). Custom deployments quoted (usage-based pricing; not included in USD monthly figures)
Trial: Not stated
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Nextiva XBert
Starting price: XBert AI Employee $99/mo for 100 interactions (calls, texts or chats), then $0.99 per interaction. A conversation counts when a call lasts 30+ seconds or a text/chat gets 3+ AI responses. No long-term contracts. Prices in USD (usage-based pricing; not included in USD monthly figures)
Trial: Not offered
Contract and setup fee: No long-term contracts
Setup and your number: Not stated
Ody
Starting price: Starter $15/user/mo, Growth $23/user/mo, Enterprise $35/user/mo (billed annually); AI agent on every plan; call summaries and recording from Growth. One local number per user included (priced per user; not included in USD monthly figures)
Trial: Free trial, 7 days, card required
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Phone Phoebe
Starting price: Basic £39/mo (priced in GBP; not included in USD figures)
Trial: Free trial, 7 days, no card required
Contract and setup fee: No per-call charges, no contracts
Setup and your number: Not stated
Phonely
Starting price: Free $0 (100 min); Starter $50/mo (200 min on the plan card, 250 in the comparison table; $0.25/min over); Professional $150/mo (650 min on the plan card, 750 in the comparison table; $0.30/min over); Enterprise as low as $0.05/min (starts with a free plan; not included in USD paid figures)
Trial: Free plan; 100 minutes
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Quo Sona
Starting price: Add-on to a paid Quo plan. Every plan includes ~10 Sona calls/month free; Tier 2 $25/mo (40 calls), Tier 3 $49/mo (100), Tier 4 $99/mo (250), Tier 5 $199/mo (600). Overage $1.00 to $0.45/call; calls under 15 seconds free (no comparable monthly start in our data; not included in USD figures)
Trial: Trial with conditions (not free)
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Ringroo
Starting price: Starter A$19.95/mo (10 calls, then A$1.50/call) (priced in AUD; not included in USD figures)
Trial: 14 days; free trial covers up to 7 calls then asks callers to text; no card required
Contract and setup fee: Cancel anytime
Setup and your number: Not stated
Sarah 24/7
Starting price: $350/mo base for a single location with one channel, plus $100/mo per additional channel and usage from 15 cents per minute of conversation. Custom terms for larger accounts (usage-based pricing; not included in USD monthly figures)
Trial: No free plan or free trial; the live demo callback is free
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Sarah by Osborne Digitals
Starting price: AI Receptionist A$199/mo + A$149 one-off setup (200 min, then A$0.60/min); Pro A$299/mo + A$149 setup (400 min, extra-minute rate on request; adds reviews care and a Starter Website with domain and hosting); Elite A$499/mo + A$299 setup (1,000 min, then A$0.50/min; answers every call 24/7, team login, Business Website with domain and hosting); A separate Missed Call Saver plan, A$79/mo + A$49 setup, is missed-call text-back only, with no AI answering (priced in AUD; not included in USD figures)
Trial: Not stated
Contract and setup fee: Month-to-month, 30 days' notice to cancel
Setup and your number: Keeps your existing number: missed calls divert to your AI receptionist
Sayora
Starting price: £49/mo flat, no VAT added, no setup fee, no contract (priced in GBP; not included in USD figures)
Trial: Free trial, 7 days, card required; Free test mode first (up to 15 calls or 30 connected minutes)
Contract and setup fee: £49/mo flat, no VAT added, no setup fee, no contract
Setup and your number: Not stated
Smith.ai
Starting price: Free $0/mo (25 calls, then $3.00/call); Pro $150/mo (75 calls at $2.00/call, larger call bundles discounted); Enterprise from $500/mo (300 calls at $1.67/call); custom plans available (starts with a free plan; not included in USD paid figures)
Trial: Free plan, card required; 25 calls/month, free forever (not a trial)
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Solwees
Starting price: Per location: Solo €99/mo (AI assistant answers calls using call-minute packs bought separately) (priced in EUR; not included in USD figures)
Trial: Free trial, 7 days, no card required
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
VoiceFleet
Starting price: Starter €99/mo (500 min, no automatic overage, extra-minute packs available) (priced in EUR; not included in USD figures)
Trial: Free trial, 7 days
Contract and setup fee: No setup fee, no contract
Setup and your number: Not stated
Voka AI
Starting price: PAYG $19/mo ($0.45/min); Light $49/mo (100 min, then $0.35); Flex $89/mo (300 min, then $0.25); Value $149/mo (600 min, then $0.18); Commit $229/mo (1,200 min, then $0.18). Scheduling add-ons $9.99 to $19.99/mo; SMS add-ons $14.99/$24.99 (usage-based pricing; not included in USD monthly figures)
Trial: Free for 14 days or 100 minutes, whichever comes first; you verify a mobile or business landline by code (one free trial per number); no card required
Contract and setup fee: Month-to-month, no contracts
Setup and your number: Not stated
Waboom AI
Starting price: AI receptionist: NZ$130/mo platform fee (excl. GST) plus prepaid call credit, starting with NZ$500 of credit at NZ$0.95/min and dropping to as low as NZ$0.77/min with larger credit loads (priced in NZD and AUD; not included in USD figures)
Trial: Not stated
Contract and setup fee: Not stated
Setup and your number: Not stated
Workforce Wave
Starting price: Free (1 agent, 100 min); Starter $99/mo (1 agent, 500 min, $0.12/min overage); Growth $249/mo (5 agents, 2,000 min, $0.10/min); Platform $499/mo (20 agents, 8,000 min, $0.08/min). No setup cost (starts with a free plan; not included in USD paid figures)
Trial: Free plan: first agent with 100 minutes; no card required
Contract and setup fee: No setup cost
Setup and your number: Not stated

Setting it up yourself: what to check on the trial

In our records, 6 small business vendors claim self-serve setup in their features or description: AI-Receptionist.com ("Self-serve AI receptionist with plans from $14/mo, 55+ languages, spam filtering, Google Calendar booking, and boss-mode style owner controls"), Reception.ai ("Website scan setup in minutes"), AptaBook ("Most businesses live in under 10 minutes (phone goes live after number setup)"), Trillet ("AI receptionist with 5-minute setup"), CallMelo ("Keep your current number; goes live in about 10 minutes") and DeskCaller ("Self-serve onboarding, can be live the same day"). 9 say they work with your existing number or any phone system: Voksha ("Answers in under 200 ms on existing number"), Zoom Virtual Agent Receptionist ("Works with existing phone systems (standalone)"), AptaBook ("Keeps your existing number: forward your phone line to your AptaBook number"), RingCentral AI Receptionist ("Works with any phone system"), Goodcall ("Local number included or forward existing number"), CallMelo ("Keep your current number; goes live in about 10 minutes"), Frontivo.io ("Keep your existing number"), Nevermiss ("Keep your existing number") and Sarah by Osborne Digitals ("Keeps your existing number: missed calls divert to your AI receptionist"). Most others give you a new number or forward calls from yours, so ask which before you start.

On the trial, forward your main line for an afternoon and call it yourself from a mobile. Check four things: how long it takes to go live without a sales call, whether it answers your top five questions from your website or an FAQ you paste in, what lands in your inbox or text messages after each call, and how a caller reaches you when the AI cannot help. Then read the cancellation terms before the trial ends, because some trials roll into a paid plan.

Price bands in our data

Of the 112 small business vendors, 74 publish a comparable US-dollar monthly starting price. The median paid start among them is $59/month. The cheapest five: Automaticall ($9.99/mo), fone.me ($9.99/mo), KaiCalls ($10/mo), RingOwl ($10/mo) and AI-Receptionist.com ($14/mo). Entry plans differ a lot in minutes, calls and features, so compare what each one includes, and check the overage rate if you get busy weeks.

Prices in other currencies stay in their own currency and are left out of the US-dollar figures: Agentfabriek (Starter €249/mo + one-time setup €2,499; priced in EUR), Alayic (From GBP 89.99/mo (about $119 USD per vendor FAQ) with inclusive minutes (Professional cites 450 free minutes); priced in GBP), Bridge Voice (Starter £30/mo (250 minutes, voice calls only, no SMS); priced in GBP), CallEez (Beginner £19/mo (50 minutes, 20 texts, 1 AI receptionist); priced in GBP), Callrix (Other industries: Try Me A$49/mo (75 min), Starter A$249/mo (500 min), Scale A$599/mo (1,335 min); priced in AUD), CloudTalk AI Receptionist (AI Receptionist add-on from $99/mo (200 min; USD per the English page copy); priced in USD and EUR), DeskCaller (Starter GBP 48/mo (120 min, about 40 calls); priced in GBP), Estera (Voice plans: Lite EUR 49/mo (150 min); priced in EUR), HeyDiga (Diga Lite €49/mo (200 min); priced in EUR), IONOS AI Receptionist (£39/mo excl. VAT (30 calls included, then £0.49/call, 1 forwarding); priced in GBP), Johnni AI (Pay As You Go A$49/mo monthly or A$44/mo paid annually (60 min, then A$0.50/min); priced in AUD), Lyngo AI (Starter A$139/mo + GST (45 calls, then A$3/call, 20 SMS then A$0.10 each); priced in AUD), Phone Phoebe (Basic £39/mo; priced in GBP), Ringroo (Starter A$19.95/mo (10 calls, then A$1.50/call); priced in AUD), Sarah by Osborne Digitals (AI Receptionist A$199/mo + A$149 one-off setup (200 min, then A$0.60/min); priced in AUD), Sayora (£49/mo flat, no VAT added, no setup fee, no contract; priced in GBP), Solwees (Per location: Solo €99/mo (AI assistant answers calls using call-minute packs bought separately); priced in EUR), VoiceFleet (Starter €99/mo (500 min, no automatic overage, extra-minute packs available); priced in EUR) and Waboom AI (AI receptionist: NZ$130/mo platform fee (excl. GST) plus prepaid call credit, starting with NZ$500 of credit at NZ$0.95/min and dropping to as low as NZ$0.77/min with larger credit loads; priced in NZD and AUD). To estimate a monthly bill for your own call volume, use the cost calculator. For the full market picture, read the AI receptionist pricing report and the cost guide.

How this differs from the main shortlist

The best AI receptionist shortlist picks across every vendor and every job, including multi-location teams. This page keeps to the small business tag and ranks on price, trial and setup terms, so its picks are different. If your business is in a trade or a practice, the industry guides go further: see the industry lists and the free trial guide. Weighing software against a person on the phone? Read AI receptionist vs human receptionist.

FAQ

What is the best AI receptionist for a small business?

It depends on the job, so this page has no single winner. By our published rules the picks are Automaticall (lowest monthly price), Balaay (longest free trial without a card), OnCallClerk (no contract and no setup fee), AptaBook (set it up yourself and keep your number), Jodie (Hey Jodie) (unlimited calls on every plan) and KaiCalls (built for solo owners and small teams). Each rule is listed above, and each pick should still take a test call with your own questions before you choose.

How much does an AI receptionist cost for a small business?

Among the 74 small-business-tagged vendors with a comparable US-dollar monthly start, the median paid start is $59/month. The cheapest five: Automaticall ($9.99/mo), fone.me ($9.99/mo), KaiCalls ($10/mo), RingOwl ($10/mo) and AI-Receptionist.com ($14/mo). Some vendors bill per call or per minute on top of the plan, so check the price column above and try the cost calculator.

Which AI receptionists for small business have a free trial with no card?

38 small-business-tagged vendors list a free trial or free plan with no card required. The cheapest five with a published US-dollar start: Automaticall ($9.99/mo), RingOwl ($10/mo), AI-Receptionist.com ($14/mo), AskSiya ($29/mo) and Balaay ($29/mo). Trial terms for every vendor are in the table above, and the free trial guide has more.

Can I get an AI receptionist without a contract?

45 small business records say there is no contract, or that plans run month to month or can be cancelled anytime. The cheapest five with a published US-dollar start: Automaticall ($9.99/mo), RingOwl ($10/mo), Voksha ($14/mo), Balaay ($29/mo) and OnCallClerk ($29/mo). For every other vendor the record does not say, so ask about the notice period and any annual commitment before you sign up.

Can I keep my existing business number?

9 small business records say they work with your existing number or any phone system: Voksha ("Answers in under 200 ms on existing number"), Zoom Virtual Agent Receptionist ("Works with existing phone systems (standalone)"), AptaBook ("Keeps your existing number: forward your phone line to your AptaBook number"), RingCentral AI Receptionist ("Works with any phone system"), Goodcall ("Local number included or forward existing number"), CallMelo ("Keep your current number; goes live in about 10 minutes"), Frontivo.io ("Keep your existing number"), Nevermiss ("Keep your existing number") and Sarah by Osborne Digitals ("Keeps your existing number: missed calls divert to your AI receptionist"). Many others answer calls you forward to a number they give you, which also keeps your published number, so ask each vendor how forwarding works with your phone provider.

Picks are rule-based and never sold. Vendor facts are claims from each vendor's own record, with sources on its vendor page. Read our methodology before you buy.