Buyer guide
Best AI receptionist for salons in 2026 (by the booking system you already use)
Vendor data checked 18 Oct 2026. A salon misses calls while every chair is busy, and the receptionist that fixes it should book into the system you already run. This shortlist considers the 48 vendors tagged salons in the AI Front Desk List directory and picks by job, each from a rule we state below and apply in code to our data. Prices, overages, trials and booking systems come from each vendor's record at build time. Picks are editorial and never paid; sponsored placements play no part in them.
Want every option? The AI receptionist for salons page lists them all A to Z.
How we picked
- Built into your booking platform. A record whose integrations name a booking platform as native is that platform's own receptionist. It is shown as requiring that platform's subscription.
- Third-party, your booking system named in the record. Among third-party receptionists, every record at the two highest counts of booking systems listed from the table below (at least two systems), most first, then A to Z.
- Low-cost plan for a solo stylist or 1 to 4 chair studio. The third-party records at the three lowest published US-dollar monthly starts we can compare, with every record tied at each of those prices, lowest first, then A to Z.
- Multi-location groups. Third-party records whose stated customer size names multi-location, multi-branch, franchise or many-location accounts and also names salons, beauty, spas or barbers. Listed A to Z; quote-only vendors qualify and are never ranked on price.
- Free trial without a card. Every third-party record tied at the longest free trial that needs no card (one or more), A to Z, from each record's trial terms.
- Left out of the picks. Records listed under 15 or more industries, or named generalists, are on the full list but never picks: Hailey, Ody and Sarah 24/7. Prices in other currencies stay in their own currency and out of every USD comparison.
These are vendor claims, not call-quality ratings. No star ratings or reviews. Read our methodology.
Quick picks for salons (editorial, not paid)
| Use case | Pick | Why (from our data) | Plan and price as published | Overage and usage as published | Trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Already on Boulevard | Boulevard AI Receptionist (Beau) | Built into Boulevard. Requires a Boulevard subscription. | $125/mo per location including 200 minutes | then $0.60 per minute (vendor notes prices may change) | Not stated |
| Already on Fresha | Fresha AI Concierge | Built into Fresha. Requires a Fresha subscription. | The AI Concierge page says from $29.95 per location per month | What the $29.95 entry price includes is not published | Not stated |
| Already on GlossGenius | GlossGenius Reception | Built into GlossGenius. Requires a GlossGenius subscription. | Reception add-on $50/mo on a GlossGenius plan, free until Nov 30, 2026 | overage $0.50/min and $0.05/text (100 min and 200 texts a month included) | Free trial, 14 days, no card required (a GlossGenius platform trial) |
| Already on Zenoti | Zenoti AI Receptionist | Built into Zenoti. Requires a Zenoti subscription. | Not published (quote only) | No overage rate in our record | Not stated |
| Third-party, your booking system is named in the record | BookingBee | Lists Boulevard, Square / Square Appointments, Mindbody, Meevo and Phorest on its own site. | Essentials $99/mo per outlet (up to 8 staff) | No overage rate in our record | Not stated |
| Third-party, your booking system is named in the record | Voksha | Lists Vagaro, Boulevard, Square / Square Appointments and Mindbody on its own site. | Starter $14/mo (15 calls, then $1/call) | then $1/call | No free trial; free demo call and 7-day money-back guarantee |
| Low-cost plan for a solo stylist or 1 to 4 chair studio | RingOwl | Published USD start of $10/mo, one of the three lowest we can compare on the salon list. | Lite $10/mo (50 min) | Overage per-minute after notify | Free trial, 7 days, no card required; 7-day free trial with 30 minutes included (one-time trial budget); no credit card |
| Low-cost plan for a solo stylist or 1 to 4 chair studio | Voksha | Published USD start of $14/mo, one of the three lowest we can compare on the salon list. | Starter $14/mo (15 calls, then $1/call) | then $1/call | No free trial; free demo call and 7-day money-back guarantee |
| Low-cost plan for a solo stylist or 1 to 4 chair studio | Upfirst | Published USD start of $24.95/mo, one of the three lowest we can compare on the salon list. | Starter $24.95/mo (30 calls, $1.50/extra) | $1.50/extra | Free trial, 14 days |
| Multi-location groups (A to Z, not ranked on price) | Aruon | Sized for: Single-location to multi-location med spas and salons. | Starter $49/mo (250 min, 1 local number) | extra minutes $0.15/min | Free trial, 15 days; 15-day free trial; the page contradicts itself on whether a card is required (hero says no card; FAQ and footer say card required) |
| Multi-location groups (A to Z, not ranked on price) | BookingBee | Sized for: Single-outlet to multi-location beauty businesses. | Essentials $99/mo per outlet (up to 8 staff) | No overage rate in our record | Not stated |
| Multi-location groups (A to Z, not ranked on price) | Central (Med Spa) | Sized for: Med spas and aesthetic clinics from 1 to 20+ locations. | Not published (quote only) | No overage rate in our record | Not stated |
| Free trial without a card | Balaay | No-card free trial of 30 days, the longest among third-party salon records (every record tied at that length is shown). | Starter $29/mo (250 voice min then $0.15/min) | then $0.15/min | Free trial, 30 days, no card required; 30-day free trial, no card, month to month |
- Already on Boulevard
- Pick: Boulevard AI Receptionist (Beau)
- Why (from our data): Built into Boulevard. Requires a Boulevard subscription.
- Plan and price as published: $125/mo per location including 200 minutes
- Overage and usage as published: then $0.60 per minute (vendor notes prices may change)
- Trial: Not stated
- Already on Fresha
- Pick: Fresha AI Concierge
- Why (from our data): Built into Fresha. Requires a Fresha subscription.
- Plan and price as published: The AI Concierge page says from $29.95 per location per month
- Overage and usage as published: What the $29.95 entry price includes is not published
- Trial: Not stated
- Already on GlossGenius
- Pick: GlossGenius Reception
- Why (from our data): Built into GlossGenius. Requires a GlossGenius subscription.
- Plan and price as published: Reception add-on $50/mo on a GlossGenius plan, free until Nov 30, 2026
- Overage and usage as published: overage $0.50/min and $0.05/text (100 min and 200 texts a month included)
- Trial: Free trial, 14 days, no card required (a GlossGenius platform trial)
- Already on Zenoti
- Pick: Zenoti AI Receptionist
- Why (from our data): Built into Zenoti. Requires a Zenoti subscription.
- Plan and price as published: Not published (quote only)
- Overage and usage as published: No overage rate in our record
- Trial: Not stated
- Third-party, your booking system is named in the record
- Pick: BookingBee
- Why (from our data): Lists Boulevard, Square / Square Appointments, Mindbody, Meevo and Phorest on its own site.
- Plan and price as published: Essentials $99/mo per outlet (up to 8 staff)
- Overage and usage as published: No overage rate in our record
- Trial: Not stated
- Third-party, your booking system is named in the record
- Pick: Voksha
- Why (from our data): Lists Vagaro, Boulevard, Square / Square Appointments and Mindbody on its own site.
- Plan and price as published: Starter $14/mo (15 calls, then $1/call)
- Overage and usage as published: then $1/call
- Trial: No free trial; free demo call and 7-day money-back guarantee
- Low-cost plan for a solo stylist or 1 to 4 chair studio
- Pick: RingOwl
- Why (from our data): Published USD start of $10/mo, one of the three lowest we can compare on the salon list.
- Plan and price as published: Lite $10/mo (50 min)
- Overage and usage as published: Overage per-minute after notify
- Trial: Free trial, 7 days, no card required; 7-day free trial with 30 minutes included (one-time trial budget); no credit card
- Low-cost plan for a solo stylist or 1 to 4 chair studio
- Pick: Voksha
- Why (from our data): Published USD start of $14/mo, one of the three lowest we can compare on the salon list.
- Plan and price as published: Starter $14/mo (15 calls, then $1/call)
- Overage and usage as published: then $1/call
- Trial: No free trial; free demo call and 7-day money-back guarantee
- Low-cost plan for a solo stylist or 1 to 4 chair studio
- Pick: Upfirst
- Why (from our data): Published USD start of $24.95/mo, one of the three lowest we can compare on the salon list.
- Plan and price as published: Starter $24.95/mo (30 calls, $1.50/extra)
- Overage and usage as published: $1.50/extra
- Trial: Free trial, 14 days
- Multi-location groups (A to Z, not ranked on price)
- Pick: Aruon
- Why (from our data): Sized for: Single-location to multi-location med spas and salons.
- Plan and price as published: Starter $49/mo (250 min, 1 local number)
- Overage and usage as published: extra minutes $0.15/min
- Trial: Free trial, 15 days; 15-day free trial; the page contradicts itself on whether a card is required (hero says no card; FAQ and footer say card required)
- Multi-location groups (A to Z, not ranked on price)
- Pick: BookingBee
- Why (from our data): Sized for: Single-outlet to multi-location beauty businesses.
- Plan and price as published: Essentials $99/mo per outlet (up to 8 staff)
- Overage and usage as published: No overage rate in our record
- Trial: Not stated
- Multi-location groups (A to Z, not ranked on price)
- Pick: Central (Med Spa)
- Why (from our data): Sized for: Med spas and aesthetic clinics from 1 to 20+ locations.
- Plan and price as published: Not published (quote only)
- Overage and usage as published: No overage rate in our record
- Trial: Not stated
- Free trial without a card
- Pick: Balaay
- Why (from our data): No-card free trial of 30 days, the longest among third-party salon records (every record tied at that length is shown).
- Plan and price as published: Starter $29/mo (250 voice min then $0.15/min)
- Overage and usage as published: then $0.15/min
- Trial: Free trial, 30 days, no card required; 30-day free trial, no card, month to month
Which booking system do you use?
Built-in means the platform's own receptionist, sold on top of that platform's subscription. Third-party means the vendor lists the system on its own site.
| Booking system | Built-in receptionist | Third-party receptionists that list it on their own site | None in our data |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vagaro | None | AgentZap, BuzzWisely, Central (Med Spa), Voksha | - |
| Boulevard | Boulevard AI Receptionist (Beau) | AgentZap, BookingBee, Central (Med Spa), Voksha | - |
| Square / Square Appointments | None | BookingBee, EasyDial, IsOn24, Open Lines, RingReady, Upfirst, Voka AI, Voksha | - |
| Fresha | Fresha AI Concierge | Solwees | - |
| GlossGenius | GlossGenius Reception | None | - |
| Mindbody | None | BookingBee, Central (Med Spa), Voksha | - |
| Meevo | None | BookingBee | - |
| Phorest | None | BookingBee | - |
| Zenoti | Zenoti AI Receptionist | None | - |
| Booksy | None | Solwees | - |
- Vagaro
- Built-in receptionist: None
- Third-party receptionists that list it on their own site: AgentZap, BuzzWisely, Central (Med Spa), Voksha
- None in our data: -
- Boulevard
- Built-in receptionist: Boulevard AI Receptionist (Beau)
- Third-party receptionists that list it on their own site: AgentZap, BookingBee, Central (Med Spa), Voksha
- None in our data: -
- Square / Square Appointments
- Built-in receptionist: None
- Third-party receptionists that list it on their own site: BookingBee, EasyDial, IsOn24, Open Lines, RingReady, Upfirst, Voka AI, Voksha
- None in our data: -
- Fresha
- Built-in receptionist: Fresha AI Concierge
- Third-party receptionists that list it on their own site: Solwees
- None in our data: -
- GlossGenius
- Built-in receptionist: GlossGenius Reception
- Third-party receptionists that list it on their own site: None
- None in our data: -
- Mindbody
- Built-in receptionist: None
- Third-party receptionists that list it on their own site: BookingBee, Central (Med Spa), Voksha
- None in our data: -
- Meevo
- Built-in receptionist: None
- Third-party receptionists that list it on their own site: BookingBee
- None in our data: -
- Phorest
- Built-in receptionist: None
- Third-party receptionists that list it on their own site: BookingBee
- None in our data: -
- Zenoti
- Built-in receptionist: Zenoti AI Receptionist
- Third-party receptionists that list it on their own site: None
- None in our data: -
- Booksy
- Built-in receptionist: None
- Third-party receptionists that list it on their own site: Solwees
- None in our data: -
We record what each vendor lists. We have not tested whether a booking is created or a link is sent; ask for a live test booking.
Cost at your call volume
Enter your monthly calls and average call length in the AI receptionist cost calculator to compare these plans at your own volume.
| Vendor | Plan and price as published | Overage and usage as published | Booking platform subscription |
|---|---|---|---|
| Boulevard AI Receptionist (Beau) | $125/mo per location including 200 minutes | then $0.60 per minute (vendor notes prices may change) | Requires a Boulevard subscription |
| Fresha AI Concierge | The AI Concierge page says from $29.95 per location per month | What the $29.95 entry price includes is not published | Requires a Fresha subscription |
| GlossGenius Reception | Reception add-on $50/mo on a GlossGenius plan, free until Nov 30, 2026 | overage $0.50/min and $0.05/text (100 min and 200 texts a month included) | Requires a GlossGenius subscription. GlossGenius plans billed monthly: Standard $28/mo, Gold $56/mo, Platinum $168/mo; billed annually: $24/mo, $48/mo, $148/mo. |
| Zenoti AI Receptionist | Not published (quote only) | No overage rate in our record | Requires a Zenoti subscription |
| BookingBee | Essentials $99/mo per outlet (up to 8 staff) | No overage rate in our record | No |
| Voksha | Starter $14/mo (15 calls, then $1/call) | then $1/call | No |
| RingOwl | Lite $10/mo (50 min) | Overage per-minute after notify | No |
| Upfirst | Starter $24.95/mo (30 calls, $1.50/extra) | $1.50/extra | No |
| Aruon | Starter $49/mo (250 min, 1 local number) | extra minutes $0.15/min | No |
| Central (Med Spa) | Not published (quote only) | No overage rate in our record | No |
| Balaay | Starter $29/mo (250 voice min then $0.15/min) | then $0.15/min | No |
- Boulevard AI Receptionist (Beau)
- Plan and price as published: $125/mo per location including 200 minutes
- Overage and usage as published: then $0.60 per minute (vendor notes prices may change)
- Booking platform subscription: Requires a Boulevard subscription
- Fresha AI Concierge
- Plan and price as published: The AI Concierge page says from $29.95 per location per month
- Overage and usage as published: What the $29.95 entry price includes is not published
- Booking platform subscription: Requires a Fresha subscription
- GlossGenius Reception
- Plan and price as published: Reception add-on $50/mo on a GlossGenius plan, free until Nov 30, 2026
- Overage and usage as published: overage $0.50/min and $0.05/text (100 min and 200 texts a month included)
- Booking platform subscription: Requires a GlossGenius subscription. GlossGenius plans billed monthly: Standard $28/mo, Gold $56/mo, Platinum $168/mo; billed annually: $24/mo, $48/mo, $148/mo.
- Zenoti AI Receptionist
- Plan and price as published: Not published (quote only)
- Overage and usage as published: No overage rate in our record
- Booking platform subscription: Requires a Zenoti subscription
- BookingBee
- Plan and price as published: Essentials $99/mo per outlet (up to 8 staff)
- Overage and usage as published: No overage rate in our record
- Booking platform subscription: No
- Voksha
- Plan and price as published: Starter $14/mo (15 calls, then $1/call)
- Overage and usage as published: then $1/call
- Booking platform subscription: No
- RingOwl
- Plan and price as published: Lite $10/mo (50 min)
- Overage and usage as published: Overage per-minute after notify
- Booking platform subscription: No
- Upfirst
- Plan and price as published: Starter $24.95/mo (30 calls, $1.50/extra)
- Overage and usage as published: $1.50/extra
- Booking platform subscription: No
- Aruon
- Plan and price as published: Starter $49/mo (250 min, 1 local number)
- Overage and usage as published: extra minutes $0.15/min
- Booking platform subscription: No
- Central (Med Spa)
- Plan and price as published: Not published (quote only)
- Overage and usage as published: No overage rate in our record
- Booking platform subscription: No
- Balaay
- Plan and price as published: Starter $29/mo (250 voice min then $0.15/min)
- Overage and usage as published: then $0.15/min
- Booking platform subscription: No
Built-in receptionists are add-ons: the price above is on top of the booking platform subscription. For the wider market, read what AI receptionists cost.
Free trial without a card
Salon vendors whose record holds a free trial or free plan with no card required: Balaay (30-day free trial, no card, month to month), EasyDial (14-day trial with 100 AI minutes; no card required), GlossGenius Reception (GlossGenius platform trial, 14 days), GreetKeeper (14-day free trial, every feature on, no card), Jodie (Hey Jodie) (7-day free trial, no credit card; service pauses if no plan chosen after trial), OnCallClerk (14-day free trial on paid plans; free plan available; no credit card required to sign up), Phone Phoebe (7-day free trial on all plans; no card required), QuickVOC (3-day free trial with 25 minutes; no credit card required), Reception.ai (14-day free trial with full access, 30 phone minutes and 1 phone number; no credit card), RingOwl (7-day free trial with 30 minutes included (one-time trial budget); no credit card), RingReady (4-day free trial on every plan; cancel anytime; 30-day money-back on first paid month), Ringroo (14-day free trial; no credit card; free trial covers up to 7 calls then asks callers to text), Solwees (7-day free trial, no card) and Voka AI (Free for 14 days or 100 minutes, whichever comes first, no credit card; you verify a mobile or business landline by code (one free trial per number)). GlossGenius's trial is a trial of the GlossGenius platform. More options: AI receptionists with a free trial.
Deposits and no-shows
Only what the records say, verbatim from each vendor's features. We have not tested deposit collection, and we hold no no-show figures for any vendor.
- Central (Med Spa): Books and collects deposits where required.
- Open Lines: Deposit collection via Stripe and Square (Pro+).
- Operator: Quotes from configured prices and deposit collection.
- RingDispatch: Deposits and card on file mid-call.
- Voka AI: SMS booking and deposit links.
Salons outside the US
These salon-tagged vendors publish prices in another currency. They are shown in their own currency and are not part of any USD comparison on this page.
- Agentfabriek, in EUR: Starter €249/mo + one-time setup €2,499
- Alayic, in GBP: From GBP 89.99/mo with inclusive minutes (Professional cites 450 free minutes)
- Bridge Voice, in GBP: Starter £30/mo (250 minutes, voice calls only, no SMS)
- HeyDiga, in EUR: Diga Lite €49/mo (200 min)
- Phone Phoebe, in GBP: Basic £39/mo
- Ringroo, in AUD: Starter A$19.95/mo (10 calls, then A$1.50/call)
- Solwees, in EUR: Per location: Solo €99/mo (AI assistant answers calls using call-minute packs bought separately)
- VoiceFleet, in EUR: Starter €99/mo (500 min, no automatic overage, extra-minute packs available)
Salon or med spa?
Hair, nail and barber shops book short, repeat services, so the booking system decides the fit. A med spa books consults and treatments by provider and room, and may need a BAA. Running a med spa, or both? See the AI receptionist for med spas list and the best AI receptionist for med spas shortlist.
When to use the full list
This page is a shortlist. For every salon-tagged vendor with pricing, trials and sources, use the AI receptionist for salons list. A general small business tool may also fit a one-chair studio: see AI receptionist for small businesses. Comparing a well-known name? See Upfirst alternatives.
FAQ
What is the best AI receptionist for salons?
It depends on the booking system you already use. On Boulevard, Fresha, GlossGenius and Zenoti, start with that platform's own receptionist (Boulevard AI Receptionist (Beau), Fresha AI Concierge, GlossGenius Reception and Zenoti AI Receptionist); each requires the platform subscription. On another system, BookingBee and Voksha list the most of the booking systems we track on their own sites. For a low published USD start, look at RingOwl, Voksha and Upfirst. Ask any of them for a live test booking before you choose.
Does an AI receptionist book into Vagaro, Boulevard, Square or Fresha?
Some vendors say so. From our records: Vagaro: listed by AgentZap, BuzzWisely, Central (Med Spa) and Voksha, Boulevard: built in (Boulevard AI Receptionist (Beau)), listed by AgentZap, BookingBee, Central (Med Spa) and Voksha, Square / Square Appointments: listed by BookingBee, EasyDial, IsOn24, Open Lines, RingReady, Upfirst, Voka AI and Voksha and Fresha: built in (Fresha AI Concierge), listed by Solwees. We record what each vendor lists. We have not tested whether a booking is created or a link is sent; ask for a live test booking.
Can an AI receptionist take deposits and cut no-shows?
A few salon records mention deposits: Central (Med Spa), Open Lines, Operator, RingDispatch and Voka AI describe deposit collection or deposit links in their features. We have not tested any of them and hold no no-show figures for any vendor. Ask how a deposit is taken, where the payment lands and how a missed appointment is handled.
How much does an AI receptionist for a salon cost per month?
In our data, the lowest published USD start among the third-party picks is $10/mo (RingOwl: Lite $10/mo (50 min); overage and usage: Overage per-minute after notify). Built-in receptionists are add-ons that require the platform subscription. Check the overage beside each price in the cost table, and read AI receptionist cost. Prices in other currencies (Agentfabriek (EUR), Alayic (GBP), Bridge Voice (GBP), HeyDiga (EUR), Phone Phoebe (GBP), Ringroo (AUD), Solwees (EUR) and VoiceFleet (EUR)) are shown as published and not compared in USD.
Is there a salon AI receptionist with a free trial and no card?
Yes. Salon vendors whose record holds a no-card free trial or free plan: Balaay, EasyDial, GlossGenius Reception, GreetKeeper, Jodie (Hey Jodie), OnCallClerk, Phone Phoebe, QuickVOC, Reception.ai, RingOwl, RingReady, Ringroo, Solwees and Voka AI. GlossGenius's trial covers the GlossGenius platform. Read the terms in the free trial section above.
Do I need to switch booking software?
No. A built-in receptionist works only on its own platform and needs that subscription. A third-party receptionist can keep your current system if it lists it; the booking system table shows which do. If no vendor lists your system, ask whether it books into a calendar you share or only takes a message, and ask for a live test booking before you change anything.
Related
- AI receptionists for salons, med spas and small businesses
- Best AI receptionist by use case, AI receptionist cost and free trials
Picks are editorial and never sold. Vendor facts are claims from each vendor's own site, checked on the dates on each vendor page. Found an error? Tell us.