Skip to content
AI Front Desk List
Saved

Vendor alternatives

Abby Connect alternatives

Picks and order are never sold. Paid placements are always labelled Sponsored.

Last updated: 1 November 2026. Abby Connect sells human receptionists and an AI receptionist on one plan, with one shared allowance of Abby Minutes. A minute of human answering uses one Abby Minute and a minute of AI answering uses half of one, so 50 Abby Minutes cover 50 human minutes, 100 AI minutes or a mix, such as 25 human minutes and 50 AI minutes. This page compares Abby with six vendors from the AI Front Desk List directory, which lists 282 AI receptionist and voice agent vendors as of today. Prices and trial terms come from our vendor records, and Abby's pricing page was rechecked on 1 November 2026. We publish no star ratings or reviews.

Who Abby Connect is for

Abby suits a business that wants people on some calls and AI on others, on one bill. Its pricing page (checked 1 November 2026) says you choose how each call is handled and can change the mix at any time. On a call handled by both, the AI part bills at the AI rate and the human part at the human rate. The page also lists a US-based receptionist team, English and Spanish answering, 24/7 coverage, month-to-month terms and no setup fee.

Published plans: Starter $164/mo (50 Abby Minutes); Essential $329/mo (100); Professional $599/mo (200); Growth $1,380/mo (500). AI answering uses half an Abby Minute per minute. Overage at the plan's Abby Minute rate; no setup fee.

Our listing tags Abby for law firms, home services, real estate and small businesses. Tags show who a vendor markets to, not what it can do for your trade.

When to look at an alternative

Consider another service if you need:

  • A billing unit that fits your calls. Abby counts minutes, with AI minutes at half rate. Per-call plans and flat plans charge differently, so long and short calls change the bill in different ways.
  • AI-only answering. If you do not need human receptionists, an AI-only service may be simpler to set up and to read on the bill.
  • Named integrations before you sign. Abby's pricing page mentions 1,000+ integrations and a custom-solutions consultation, but the pages we checked do not name the providers.

Abby Connect at a glance

Starting price
Our data (Abby's pricing page rechecked 1 November 2026): $164/mo
Entry plan
Our data (Abby's pricing page rechecked 1 November 2026): Starter $164/mo (50 Abby Minutes)
Billing unit
Our data (Abby's pricing page rechecked 1 November 2026): Abby Minutes: one allowance shared by human and AI answering
How minutes count
Our data (Abby's pricing page rechecked 1 November 2026): 1 minute of human answering uses 1 Abby Minute; 1 minute of AI answering uses half an Abby Minute
Overage
Our data (Abby's pricing page rechecked 1 November 2026): Billed at your plan's Abby Minute rate
Trial
Our data (Abby's pricing page rechecked 1 November 2026): Free trial
Contract
Our data (Abby's pricing page rechecked 1 November 2026): Month to month, no setup fee
Integrations
Our data (Abby's pricing page rechecked 1 November 2026): CRM and calendar integrations (providers not named on the pages we checked)

Abby Connect alternatives compared

Smith.ai
Starts at: $0 (free plan)
Entry plan as published: Free $0/mo (25 calls, then $3.00/call)
Billing unit: Calls
Human option in our record: Human-first plans, not priced in our record
Trial or free option: Free plan, card required; 25 calls/month, free forever (not a trial)
Moneypenny AI Answering
Starts at: $99/mo
Entry plan as published: AI Answering (US): 50 calls $99/mo (extra calls $2.39)
Billing unit: Calls (AI plan); minutes (separate People Answering plan)
Human option in our record: People Answering, a separate plan
Trial or free option: Not stated
AgentZap
Starts at: $109/mo, plus $499 setup
Entry plan as published: Starter $109/mo (150 min, $0.85/min overage)
Billing unit: Minutes
Human option in our record: Live agent backup; terms not in our record
Trial or free option: Not offered
NextPhone
Starts at: $199/mo
Entry plan as published: Pro $199/mo
Billing unit: Flat monthly, unlimited inbound calls
Human option in our record: None
Trial or free option: Free trial, 7 days, card required
Rosie
Starts at: $49/mo
Entry plan as published: Professional $49/mo (250 min)
Billing unit: Minutes
Human option in our record: None
Trial or free option: Free trial, 7 days, no card required
Upfirst
Starts at: $24.95/mo
Entry plan as published: Starter $24.95/mo (30 calls, $1.50/extra)
Billing unit: Calls
Human option in our record: None
Trial or free option: Free trial, 14 days

Starting prices and trial terms come from our vendor data, refreshed whenever the directory is rebuilt.

These units are not interchangeable. An Abby Minute, a minute, a call and a flat fee each count differently, so compare each allowance with a month of your own call data rather than the starting price. Our cost guide explains each billing unit.

The alternatives, one by one

Smith.ai

  • Why it fits: the closest hybrid here. Smith.ai answers with AI backed by live North America-based agents and sells human receptionists on Human-first plans, so you can keep people in the mix with one vendor. It names Clio, Zapier, Calendly and HubSpot (paid plans).
  • Entry plan and unit: Free $0/mo (25 calls, then $3.00/call), billed by the call. Overage: per extra call, at the rate in each plan.
  • Tier to check: human receptionists are on the Human-first plans; HubSpot needs a paid plan.
  • Material limitation: the prices here are the AI receptionist plans. Our record does not price the Human-first plans.
  • Confirm: what a Human-first plan costs for your volume, and how a call moves from the AI to a person.

AI receptionist plans: Free $0/mo (25 calls, then $3.00/call); Pro $150/mo (75 calls at $2.00/call, larger call bundles discounted); Enterprise from $500/mo (300 calls at $1.67/call); custom plans available. Terms: Free plan, card required; 25 calls/month, free forever (not a trial). Smith.ai listing. Head to head: Abby Connect vs Smith.ai.

Moneypenny AI Answering

  • Why it fits: a long-established answering service that sells both AI answering and live receptionists.
  • Entry plan and unit: AI Answering (US): 50 calls $99/mo (extra calls $2.39), billed by the call. Overage: per extra call, at the rate in each plan.
  • Tier to check: People Answering, the live service, is a separate plan billed by the minute.
  • Material limitation: the two are separate plans, not one shared allowance like Abby Minutes. The AI plan cards list "Human escalation", but the pricing page (checked 1 November 2026) does not say whether human time is included, what it costs or when it is available. No free trial is stated.
  • Confirm: how escalation to a person works on the AI plan, and whether you would need both plans.

US plans: AI Answering (US): 50 calls $99/mo (extra calls $2.39); 100 calls $199/mo ($2.19); 250 calls $435/mo ($1.89); 500 calls $775/mo ($1.69). No contract. Live People Answering is a separate plan from $165/mo for 50 minutes (extra minutes $2.85). Moneypenny listing. See also Moneypenny alternatives.

AgentZap

  • Why it fits: AI answering with live agent backup, real-time calendar booking and urgency detection, on minute plans.
  • Entry plan and unit: Starter $109/mo (150 min, $0.85/min overage), billed by the minute. An AgentZap minute is not an Abby Minute: on Abby, AI minutes count at half.
  • Tier to check: a one-time setup fee applies, waived on a 6-month Professional term.
  • Material limitation: our record does not say how much live agent time is included or what it costs. There is no free trial; the vendor offers a 30-day money-back guarantee.
  • Confirm: when calls go to a live agent, and whether that time draws on the same minutes.

Plans: Starter $109/mo (150 min, $0.85/min overage); Professional $295/mo (450 min, $0.75/min); Business $899/mo (1,500 min, $0.70/min); Enterprise custom. $499 one-time training and setup fee (waived on a 6-month Professional term). Fully managed plan also offered. AgentZap listing.

NextPhone

  • Why it fits: if you would use Abby mainly for AI answering and want no usage meter. NextPhone charges a flat monthly price with unlimited inbound calls and books into Google and Outlook calendars on every plan. Our record also names Clio, Lawmatics and MyCase.
  • Entry plan and unit: Pro $199/mo, flat monthly with unlimited inbound calls. Overage: none, per the plans as published.
  • Tier to check: CRM updates, including Clio and HubSpot, start on Growth, as do Zapier and webhooks (NextPhone's pricing page, checked 1 November 2026). Outbound calls and texts sit on higher tiers.
  • Material limitation: no human receptionists in our record.
  • Confirm: what unlimited covers in NextPhone's own terms, and how urgent calls transfer to your team.

Plans: Pro $199/mo; Growth $299/mo; Scale $599/mo; unlimited inbound calls, no per-minute or overage fees. Trial: Free trial, 7 days, card required. NextPhone listing. Head to head: Abby Connect vs NextPhone.

Rosie

  • Why it fits: AI-only answering in English and Spanish on every call, if bilingual answering is the part of Abby you rely on most.
  • Entry plan and unit: Professional $49/mo (250 min), billed by the minute. Overage: our record does not state a rate.
  • Tier to check: calendar booking and live or warm transfers start on Scale, not the entry plan.
  • Material limitation: no human receptionists in our record.
  • Confirm: which tier you need for booking and transfers, and what happens when you pass your minutes.

Plans: Professional $49/mo (250 min); Scale $149/mo (1,000 min); Growth $299/mo (2,000 min); annual billing gives 2 months free. Website chat is free with all plans; website texting is an add-on at $50/mo (25 conversations, then $1 each). Trial: Free trial, 7 days, no card required. Rosie listing.

Upfirst

  • Why it fits: per-call AI answering with a small entry tier, a choice of 24/7, overflow-only or after-hours answering, warm transfers, and named integrations including Clio, Google Calendar and Outlook.
  • Entry plan and unit: Starter $24.95/mo (30 calls, $1.50/extra), billed by the call. Overage: per extra call, at the rate in each plan.
  • Tier to check: our record does not tie features to tiers; each extra business or location is an added agent.
  • Material limitation: no human receptionists in our record. A call counts the same whatever its length, so compare the call allowance with your call count, not your minutes.
  • Confirm: that bookings land in the calendar you use, and which calls you want answered only on overflow or after hours.

Plans: Starter $24.95/mo (30 calls, $1.50/extra); Premium $59.95/mo (90 calls, $1/extra); Pro $159.95/mo (300 calls, $0.75/extra); Scale $299/mo (600 calls, $0.70/extra); save 20% annually. Each additional agent (another business or location) $9.95/mo. Trial: Free trial, 14 days. Upfirst invites you to hear its AI at (833) 564-4778. Upfirst listing.

When to stay with Abby Connect

Stay if you want human and AI answering on one allowance, with the mix set per call type and changeable at any time, from a US-based team with English and Spanish answering. If most of your calls need a person, none of the AI-only services above replace that. For the wider choice, read AI answering service vs AI receptionist.

Switching checklist

  1. Call forwarding. Confirm how the new service takes your calls: forwarding your existing number (all calls, after hours or after a set number of rings) or a new number. Keep Abby running until test calls pass.
  2. Human escalation. List which calls reach a person today, then check how the new service handles each one: a live agent, a warm transfer to your team, or a message.
  3. Booking and handoff. Check where bookings and messages land: your calendar, your CRM or case system, or a text or email summary.
  4. Units. From Abby's portal, take a month of usage: human minutes, AI minutes and the number of calls. Compare it with each plan's allowance in that plan's own unit.

FAQ

How do Abby Minutes work?

Every Abby plan has one allowance of Abby Minutes for human and AI answering. A minute of human answering uses one Abby Minute and a minute of AI answering uses half an Abby Minute, so 50 Abby Minutes cover 50 human minutes, 100 AI minutes or a mix. Usage past the allowance is billed at your plan's Abby Minute rate.

Which Abby Connect alternatives keep a human option?

Smith.ai sells human receptionists on its Human-first plans. Moneypenny sells People Answering as a separate plan from its AI Answering plans. AgentZap lists live agent backup. NextPhone, Rosie and Upfirst are AI only in our records.

Can I compare Abby's price with a per-call or flat plan?

Not directly. Abby counts Abby Minutes; Smith.ai, Moneypenny and Upfirst count calls; AgentZap and Rosie count minutes; NextPhone charges a flat fee. Compare each allowance with a month of your own call data instead of the starting price.

Does Abby Connect have a free trial?

Abby's pricing page, checked 1 November 2026, says every plan comes with a free trial and there is no setup fee. Our record: Free trial.

Are these alternatives ranked by payment?

No. Picks are editorial. Picks and order are never sold. Paid placements are always labelled Sponsored. See our methodology and Advertise. We earn a commission if you sign up to NextPhone through our link; it does not change which alternatives we list or their order (see affiliate disclosure).

Disclosure

Abby Connect's pricing page was rechecked on 1 November 2026; other prices and trial terms come from our vendor records, each with its own check date. Confirm current terms on each vendor's site before you buy. AI Front Desk List is independent and is not affiliated with Abby Connect or any vendor named here other than NextPhone, where we earn a commission if you sign up through our link (see affiliate disclosure). It does not change which alternatives we list or their order.